Audiobook Review: Doctor Who and the Horns of Nimon by Terrance Dicks

Doctor Who and the Horns of NimonFan opinion on “The Horns of Nimon” is fairly divided — there are those who adore it and then there are those who consider it the low point of its era.

It’s been a hot minute since I rewatched the story and it’s not a Target adaptation that I have strong memories of either way. With the story coming out as an audiobook, it feels like this is the publisher trying to finish out the range with a novelization that isn’t regarded as one of Terrance Dicks’ more stellar efforts.

And yet, listening to this audiobook, I was immensely entertained and felt like I was hearing the story again for the first time. Now, this doesn’t mean this story has jumped into my top ten stories of all time, but listening to it and experiencing it for the first time in a decade or more, I found myself more than entertained by it. Dicks starts the story off with a prologue that establishes the rise and fall of the empire and the Nimon’s arrival with promises of glories to come if only the Sconons will follow the Nimon’s instructions.

If the entire novel had shown as much care as this early chapter did, this one might be remembered as one of the better entries by Dicks. Instead, from that creative high, we get a fairly straightforward adaptation of what we got on-screen (at least as far as I can recall). Your mileage will vary on which camp you fall into for this one — though I will admit that removed from some of the acting choices made by certain thespians in this story, the overall story and threat work a bit better (at least for this fan).

The audiobook is an interesting experience. Performed by Geoffrey Beavers (who is (apparently) the go-to reader these days if Jon Culshaw isn’t available), he makes some different choices than the actors who memorably brought this to life on screen. I will admit that not having Soldeed as over the top helps make him a more sympathetic figure (when you realize the Nimon is using him) and a bigger potential threat. Again, I could listen to Beavers read the take-out menu and he’d do a solid job on it, so I shouldn’t be too surprised that his work here is, once again, exemplary.

Listening to this, I find myself curious to revisit revisit “Nimon”. I’m working on a pilgrimage through classic Who and I’m a good chunk away from getting this one. But I will admit, part of me is really looking forward to it….

1 Comment

Filed under audio book review, audiobook, audiobook review, Doctor who

One response to “Audiobook Review: Doctor Who and the Horns of Nimon by Terrance Dicks

  1. Nimon is a delight for me, a lighter-toned episode which began airing on Xmas 1979. It’s also the last appearance of the Graham Wiliams-era Tom Baker, the one with no brakes on, who spent 40% of his on-screen time fondling the TARDIS console or speaking direct to camera.

Leave a comment