Booking Through Thursday — What Should I Read Next?!?

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Two questions about selecting your books.

Pooch asks:

Overall, what factor most influences your choice of your next read?

It can be a combination of factors.  Sometimes my choice of what to read next is influenced by when the book is due at the library and whether I think I can renew it or not.  Other times, it may be that I’m reading the book for my real-world book club and see the meeting time is rapidly approaching on the calendar.  In some cases, it’s a favorite author or a book I’ve been anticipating for a while has finally come out and I can’t wait to crack the cover.  And then, a lot of times it’s just a whim or my mood.

Sefcug asks:

What is it that makes you want to read a book by an author you have never read before?

Again, it’s a variety of things that can influence this decision as well.  It can be anything from the back cover description hooks me.  Or it can be another reviewer or author recommends it (this is how I found the wonderful Laura Lippman–thanks to an EW review by Stephen King.  Pretty much anything King recommends, I’ll give a try since he’s right nine times out of ten).  Or it could be curiosity about wanting to see why everyone is picking up a certain book or author.    Or it could just be the oldest hook–a really good cover.

3 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — What Should I Read Next?!?

  1. Well, I must admit that these days I trust quite a lot to the bloggers I visit. If I fancy a book but see a negative review from somebody whose opinion I trust I might not be as keen to pick it up. If I read an excellent review for a book I’ve never heard of by somebody whose opinion I trust then I will definitely pick it up. Plus it’s interesting to see if we still share the same opinion at the end of it.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I too am more and more influenced by the book bloggers I follow. Mainly they are so excited about a new read that I’ve five books in my queue from the library that still haven’t come in. Meanwhile, waiting on these wonderful books, I decided a library visit was in order, so I picked up the continuation of two series and stumbled across two new series. I love finding out about new books either from reviews or back cover blurbs!

Leave a Reply

