The Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along, Week Two

Welcome to the second week of The Lies of Locke Lamora read-along.  This week’s host is Susan over at Dark Cargo.  Thanks for hosting this week!

This segment covers Chapter 3 through the end of the Interlude: The Boy Who Cried for a Corpse.

1) Do you think Locke can pull off his scheme of playing a Midnighter who is working with Don Salvara to capture the Thorn of Camorr? I mean, he is now playing two roles in this game – and thank goodness for that costume room the Gentlemen Bastards have!

When the Midnighter was first introduced, I thought something was up.  I have to admit Lynch pulled a nice surprise by having the person revealing Locke is a fraud to be Locke himself.  It almost makes me think that Locke may prove to be too clever for his own good.

I do think he can and will pull it off.   However, I do think we’ll find a hiccup along the way that Locke doesn’t expect to see coming.  And does anyone else think this situation is just begging for a make-up or wardrobe malfunction?

2) Are you digging the detail the author has put into the alcoholic drinks in this story?

A couple of summers ago, I read three quarters of the Long Price Quartet.  (I’ve got to get to book four.  It’s on my TBR shelf, ironically near where Lies was sitting!)

One detail included in that fantasy series was descriptions of the various dishes eaten by characters.  It really helped me connect to the series and the world-creation because, let’s face it, all of us eat and drink.   I find myself having a similar reaction to the drinks described in Locke.  They help the world-building aspect of the book without feeling like I am being overwhelmed with details.
3) Who is this mysterious lady Gentlemen Bastard Sabetha and what does she mean to Locke?

So far, she seems a lot like Maris on Frasier or Vera on Cheers.  I’m wondering if she’ll be spoken of in the book and a definite influence on things but never seen center stage as it were.

4) Are you as creeped out over the use of Wraithstone to create Gentled animals as I am?

In a word, yes.

5) I got a kick out of child Locke’s first meeting with Capa Barsavi and his daughter Nazca, which was shortly followed up in the story by Barsavi granting adult Locke permission to court his daughter! Where do you think that will lead? Can you see these two together?

It made me wonder how Nazca fits into the game Locke is playing.  What’s the benefit he gains my courting her?  He seems too focused on the game at hand to be distracted by romance.

I have a feeling this will not end well for her–and probably not just a broken heart.

Or could it be that she’s playing Locke as well?

6) Capa Barsavi is freaked out over rumors of The Gray King and, in fact, us readers are privy to a gruesome torture scene. The Gray King is knocking garristas off left and right. What do you think that means?

It seems like we’re getting some foreshadowing of things to come for Locke.  (I’m actually a bit ahead of where this week’s read along finishes off, so I’m trying to make sure I don’t include any SPOILERS….)

7) In the Interlude: The Boy Who Cried for a Corpse, we learn that Father Chains owes an alchemist a favor, and that favor is a fresh corpse. He sets the boys to figuring out how to provide one, and they can’t ‘create’ the corpse themselves. How did you like Locke’s solution to this conundrum?

So there are some rules to the game.  Or was it more Father Chains just making it harder for Locke?  It brings up the question of would Locke kill someone to get what he wanted and/or needed.

Locke’s solution is just a lower grade version of the con he’s pulling with Don Salvara–Locke appearing to be something he’s not to get what he wants.  In this case, it’s a dead body and there aren’t any elaborate disguises or plots within plots going on.  It’s almost like we see the big con and then in the flashback, we see how Locke built up from this smaller version to the larger version in play as the novel unfolds.

As for Locke’s use of the dead body not only to meet the requirements of Father Chains but also to make back a little money, it all seems to be in keeping with what we’ve established about Locke.  He only sees people and things in terms of how they can benefit him.

11 Comments

Filed under Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along

11 responses to “The Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along, Week Two

  1. Pingback: Lies of Locke Lamora read-along, week two! « the Little Red Reviewer

  2. lol, a wardrobe malfunction! that would be hilarious! but wasn’t there a line somewhere about Locke having to get rid a glued on mustache really fast, so they just rip it off? ouch!

    I’m loving all the food and drink details too, especially when they talk about things that I actually eat (apricot tarts and beer, anyone?).

    When Chains sends the boys on a bodysnatching quest – omg, i was laughing my butt off at the end of that! it was horrible, but so funny! Also, Chains needs to know if Locke is going to actually go about this in a roundabout honest way (well, honest for thieves), or if he’s just going to kill someone in an alley and lie about it later.

  3. Regarding #1, I was completely tricked when we first met the Midnighters. I thought Locke’s game was up! I felt so foolish when we found out it was actually Locke… I guess I wouldn’t stand a chance against conmen.

    On #5, I get the impression that ‘no gratuitous killing’ is one of Father Chains rules.

  4. I can’t remember if I was tricked by Locke’s Midnighters scheme the first time round – although I’m sure I was!
    I don’t think that Locke has a taste for murder – I think his young recklessness resulted in deaths for a number of people but that was not his intention – just he didn’t think through the bigger picture. I don’t really see him as cold blooded, calculating maybe but not a murderer.
    Lynn 😀

  5. Pingback: The Lies of Locke Lamora Read Along Part II « Darkcargo

  6. He, he, I got a bit further as welll and had to think carefully how to phrase my answers in order not to include any spoilers. 🙂
    I find it really fun to read everyone’s answers, there seems to be more and more different answers to the questions as we learn more through the book and it’s great how different our imaginations work. 🙂

  7. nrlymrtl

    The scheme within a scheme is awesome. I didn’t suspect the Gentlemen Bastards were the Midnighters and it was a great moment when I realized they were.

  8. I was so incredibly tricked by the Midnighters… Felt so stupid after it turned out Locke had all the strings in his hands – well, maybe excluding Conte. Who I feel a little sorry for. 😀

    • Me too! I was panicking about the fact that Locke’s ruse had been discovered, especially since there are mentions of a figure following him on the rooftops.

  9. I was taken in by the Midnighters, but then I can be a little dumb at times! However, I really liked how we were manipulated into thinking Locke could be in danger: I think it built our sympathy for him much more than simply presenting the story in a linear fashion. But, yes, I was expecting the mustache to peel off slowly . . . 😀

  10. Amy

    A wardrobe malfunction would be a downer! I have to say that I’m impressed with the amount of time and effort they put into disguises and costumes, but then again, it’s what they do.

    I’m about to read ahead too so I need to be careful on the spoiler front also but I just need to know!

Leave a Reply

