Musing Mondays: The Book Was Better

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a weekly book-related meme that I participate in on a sporadic basis.  This week’s random question asks: Name a book that was turned into a movie, and completely desecrated (in your opinion).

Being a literary snob, I can think of a lot of books that were much better than the movies. My first though was Jurassic Park, which removed several plot lines that drove some of the tension of the last half of the novel.  But I don’t necessarily think that desecrated the original novel so much as it disappointed me.

I guess if I’m going to go with desecrated (and I hate to do this because I love Ron Howard) I’d have to say Dr. Suess’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas.   I think this movie had a lot to compete with beyond just the original book but also the beloved animated special.  And, quite frankly, I think less is more when it comes to the Grinch.  Expanding the material to 90 minutes from 30 didn’t do it any favors.

 

5 Comments

Filed under meme, Musing Mondays, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Musing Mondays: The Book Was Better

  1. I love Ron Howard’s work, too, so I am surprised. I didn’t see the movie. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

  2. As you know from visiting The Book Connection, I also chose this movie. You’re right, trying to expand it beyond thirty minutes was a real issue.

Leave a Reply

