A Few of My Favorite Christmas Things: Mickey’s Christmas Carol

mickeycc

Each evening at the dinner table, my parents would ask my sister and I what we’d done that day at school.   Most of the times, I tended to not really address the central question in any great detail.  But for some reason when I learned about verb tenses, I shared this information with my family with some enthusiasm.

A couple of days later, my dad told me about this great story that could help keep the concepts of the past, the present and the future straight for me.  He said it was called A Christmas Carol and that a recorded version had come out.  He said it starred Disney characters and it featured Scrooge McDuck as Ebeneezer Scrooge.

He related some of the story, whetting my appetite to hear the entire story.  And so it was that I was given the LP version of Mickey’s Christmas Carol.   I believe the record was issued released before the animated version hit theaters and then home video.

The record features the story of A Christmas Carol along with a few songs along the way.  I have to admit these songs were kind of catchy and I could hum them for days after I’d listened to the record.

I’ll admit I was kind of disappointed when I finally saw the animated version of the record and it didn’t include any of the familiar songs in it.

The record is long out of print, though I believe I’ve still got well-worn copy.   Alas, I don’t have a vinyl record player on which to play it.   But the good news is that someone has gone to the trouble of pulling the audio and pairing it with the read along portion of the book for on YouTube.  It’s broken down into four parts and I’m including all of them in case you’re interested or if you had the record also and want to enjoy it again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christmas, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

