Top Ten Tuesday: Memorable Stephen King Stories

toptentuesday2

Time again for Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by the Broke and the Bookish).  This week it’s a Halloween-themed freebie.  So, I thought I’d look at the top ten memorable stories by the master of horror, Stephen King.

stephen-king-covers

  1.  Cujo.  The second novel by Stephen King I read, this one offers scares a-plenty.  The tragedy of the family dog who goes insane due to rabies and becomes a lethal killing machine held my attention and just wouldn’t let go.  White knuckle, scary good.  I listened to this one on audio book a few years ago to see if it can still frighten me.  It did.  I refuse to see the movie version because I figure it will either a)not hold up to the pictures created in my head or b)it will and scare my pants off.
  2. Pet Semetary.  And maybe not for the reasons you think.  Yes, the concept of things coming back from the dead and being not quite right is disturbing.  But for my money, the scariest moment of the book is the flashback to the youngest son running out in front of a semi.  King paints a vivid picture of a father’s desperation to save his son and it’s arguably his most unforgettable passage.
  3. Misery.  If you’ve only seen the movie, you’ve really not experienced this one.  Yes, Annie does horrible things to Paul in the movie, but it’s nothing like being there in the bed with Paul as she does these things.  Again, it’s a case of my imagination creating a far more vivid picture than any movie ever could.
  4. Bag of Bones.   King just finds a different gear when it comes to writers facing demons or haunts.  This one is no exception.  The story of a haunted writer ushered in a second renaissance for King.  If you haven’t read it, you should.
  5. The Shining.  King’s story of one man’s descent into madness.  It starts off slowly, building and building until everything just shatters.  The final fate of Jack Torrance in the book is both horrifying and heartbreaking.
  6. The Library Policeman. Part of King’s Four Past Midnight collection, this one is scary if you’ve ever had an overdue library book.
  7. The Mangler.  It’s a short story by King and while it may not be in his upper pantheon, it still unnerved me.  I think part of it was that it was better related to me over a campfire by a youth group leader.
  8. The Dark Tower: Wizard and Glass. From the beginning, we know the romance between Roland and Susan Delgado is doomed to tragedy.  What we don’t know is just how tragic is can be.  This flashback novel fills in the details, giving us a glimpse at the young Roland and his romance with Susan Delgado.  King invests us in the romance and the characters, making her death have that much greater an impact on you once you get there.  I may have cried a bit reading the section when she meets her fate.
  9. It.  King’s mammoth novel is one that I loved when I read it and still love to this day.  I read it in a few days, confined to bed with a stomach bug.  Maybe this helped ratchet up the horror a bit.   Honestly, I’ve seen the mini-series and it can’t hold a candle to just how good this book is.
  10. Gerald’s Game.  While not considered a classic King novel, this one still held my attention when I first read it.   Two consenting adults (husband and wife) are spicing up their love life a bit when he dies, leaving her handcuffed to the bed. What follows as she works to escape is utterly memorable and horrifying.
9 Comments

Filed under meme, Top Ten Tuesday

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Memorable Stephen King Stories

  1. ohhhh I can’t read Stephen King – too creepy for me LOL (i’m a wimp 😉 ) My TTT

  2. I loved The Shining. Have you read the sequel? I’m still debating on whether I should read it. I also just recently read King’s Cell. It’s not so horror-y but still quite creepy! My TTT.

  3. I don’t think I could ever read IT, but I would love to read The Shining one day. Nice list!

  4. Great topic for Halloween. I love that not all of them are supernatural.

  5. I’ve never read Gerald’s Game, but I heard it was really good. The Dark Tower has been on my kindle for 2 years. So many people rave about that one as well.

    My TTT: TEASER TUESDAY & TOP TEN TUESDAY: TOP TEN STEPHEN KING BOOK ADAPTATIONS

  6. Ben

    You’ve intrigued me. Might have to hunt some of the lesser known ones down.

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Trick or Treat! | Nashville Book Worm

Leave a Reply

