Musing Mondays: Spooky Reading

musingmondays51

Kicking off the week with Musing Mondays (hosted by A Daily Rhythm).

This week’s random question asks: Do you read any horror, or something scary, in honor of Halloween? Why, or why not?

halloweenA couple of weeks ago, I talked about an audio version of Edgar Allen Poe’s The Telltale Heart that I dubbed onto cassette from my local library that I listened to a lot when I was much younger.  It was narrated by Vincent Price, who had the perfect voice for the story and I really enjoyed it.  I used to listen to that a good deal during the lead-up to Halloween.

These days, I read a lot of scary and horror stories all the year round (big Stephen King fan), so I don’t necessarily go out of my way to read them as we lead up to Halloween. But this year, I’ve read a couple of things that have a supernatural element as we get ready for costumes and candy.

Part of this was my TBR pile is scary big and needs to be whittled down a bit.  And part of it was that I wanted to read something with a scary element for Halloween.

2 Comments

Filed under meme, Musing Mondays

2 responses to “Musing Mondays: Spooky Reading

  1. Kwizgiver

    Oh, I remember listening to that Vincent Price recording, too!

  2. I used to be a big fan of Poe…not so much any more. Enjoy! Here is MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

Leave a Reply

