Musing Mondays: Seasonal Reading List

musingmondays51

Time again to start the week with Musing Mondays hosted by A Daily Rhythm. It’s been a few weeks since I participated, so let’s try to get back into the swing of things.

Today’s random question asks: Do you make a seasonal reading list? How do you choose what goes on it?

While there are certain books and certain types of books I enjoy reading during the various seasons of the year, I have to admit I don’t necessarily make a seasonal reading list.

But I do like to read certain things at certain times of the year.  For the past several years, for example, I have enjoyed listened to a different audio version of A Christmas Carol.    Each narrator brings something unique to the performance and it may lead me to see something about this familiar story in a new way.

I also enjoy a good scary story or two around Halloween.

Growing up, I checked out a record (yes, I’m old….) from the library that had Vincent Price reading stories by Edgar Allen Poe.  One of them that was very memorable was a rendition of the Telltale Heart.   Price’s voice was just perfect for the reading and telling of the story and it’s stuck with me.  I don’t recall what other stories were on the record (I copied it onto cassette tape), but I’d love to hear some of them again.

2 Comments

Filed under meme, Musing Mondays

2 responses to “Musing Mondays: Seasonal Reading List

  1. Hmm, I don’t really do seasonal reading list, though I do read more Christmas-themed books when the season rolls around haha. I’m not very good at following my lists anyway!
    Thanks for stopping by Bookmunchies (:

  2. I love Vincent Price’s performance of “The Telltale Heart.” I actually managed to find it online and used it when when my class was studying Poe. His voice was just perfect for it.

Leave a Reply

