Comic Book Friday: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 3: Spider-Verse

Amazing Spider-Man, Vol. 3: Spider-Verse

I’ve read a lot good Spider-Man comics over the years and I’ve read a lot of terrible Spider-Man comics over the years.

Dan Slott’s “Spider-Verse” has to be among the worst of the worst — and yes, I’ve read the entire, completely reviled clone saga from the mid-90’s.

So, every iteration of Spider-Man that has ever been is brought together for this epic, cross-over saga. And while it might seem like fun to see the 60’s animated Spidey share the page with the new animated Spidey, these fun moments are few and far between in this book. In between, we get a lot of convoluted moments with various iterations of our favorite web-head spouting off meta-physical malarkey. From what I could gather, every Spider-Man in every universe has been targeted by Morlun’s family to….ummmm, well, I’m not really quite sure why, except to feed on them and to create a reason for this crossover.

As I read this saga, I alternated between frustrating and shaking my head. In the middle issues, it feels like every other panel is a trio or group of Spider-people all teaming up to go off on an adventure that will have an impact to the main storyline. But those storylines are apparently included in another collection and not here, leaving me feeling like I’m missing a large portion of the story. I suppose I could go and find the referenced issues, but I was honestly so irritated that I didn’t want to bother. And part of it was I feared I’d only confuse myself more as to what was going on here.

Look, I get it. The idea of Peter Porker, the Spectacular Spider-Ham showing up here is fun. But that fun wears off quickly and what we get is a convoluted mess that just keeps piling it on for six long issues.

I’m not sure where Spidey goes next. And I’m not sure I necessarily want to follow.

3 Comments

Filed under comic book, Comic Book Friday, review

3 responses to “Comic Book Friday: The Amazing Spider-Man Volume 3: Spider-Verse

  1. Ben

    This feels like the perfect example of when a comic series has been running for too long. Ludicrous, silly ideas begin to emerge and it becomes time for another “reboot” to undo the various mistakes.

    • The thing is they just did a reboot of Spidey a year and a half ago. And now I think this whole Secret Wars storyline is rebooting all of Marvel again, so who know?!?

      • Ben

        I’ve stopped trying to keep up. I hate the reboot idea anyway because it feels like a middle-finger to the fans that have stuck with the series throughout it’s run.

Leave a Reply

