Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Didn’t “Click” With

toptentuesday2

Time again for Top Ten Tuesday hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is looking at those characters we didn’t “click” with.

  1.  America Singer from The Selection.   This one could read pretty much any character from this book.  I couldn’t stand any of them!
  2. Edward Cullen from Twilight.  I liked the first third of Twilight when Bella was allowed to be an interesting character.  It’s one Edward shows up and we got all insta-love that things go downhill.  Honestly, Buffy couldn’t have staked this guy soon enough for me!
  3. Odd Thomas from the Dean Koontz novels.  Honestly, every time I read Dean Koontz I get a feeling of “deja vu” — even if it’s a new book.  It’s one reason I’ve not picked up many of his books recently.  His Odd Thomas novels are another.
  4. Alice Bell from Alice in Zombieland.  I know a lot of people love these books, but they didn’t do much for me.  I think part of it is that I didn’t care much for the lead character.
  5. Amelia and Joshua from Afterlife.   She’s a ghost, he’s a mortal.  So, of course, they fall in love because….um…well, I’ not quite sure why.   I was torn about which of these two to include so I went with both.
  6. Amazing_Spider-Man_Vol_1_139_page_07_Maxwell_Markham_(Earth-616)Grizzly from The Amazing Spider-Man.   My favorite superhero has a rich gallery of villains he faces.  And the he’s got some villains who were one-offs (or should have been) that leave you scratching your head and going, huh?!?  The Grizzly is one of them. It’s a guy in a bear suit who…well, I’m not quite sure what else.   But it’s really, really silly.
  7. All the characters in Those Girls.
  8. Diana Bishop from A Discovery of Witches.   One of the bigger Mary Sue novels I’ve ever read.
  9. All the characters in Lucifer’s Hammer.   So, an asteroid is coming to destroy the Earth.  Never have I rooted for the asteroid as much as I did here.
  10. Lily Wilder from I Take You.  Lily is getting married in a week but that doesn’t stop her from alienating her mother-in-law-to-be, flirting with every guy she meets and cheating on her finacee.  I can see what the author was trying to do, but I honestly came to care less and less for Lily as the novel went on and she became more and more selfish.
7 Comments

Filed under meme, Top Ten Tuesday

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Didn’t “Click” With

  1. The insta-love really made Twilight unbelievable. Bella made my list.

    My TTT! @ LazyBookLovers

  2. Edward made my list too. He was way too creepy for me.

  3. I so agree about Odd Thomas! So sure was I that I’d enjoy the series that when I had the chance to grab several of them used, I did. Ended up giving them away. Can’t even remember now if I even read the second one.

    Laughing about your comment on Lucifer’s Hammer. It’s been so long since I read it I can’t remember the characters. Possibly that tells me something, lol.

  4. I didn’t go with Edward – I picked Bella My TTT

Leave a Reply

