Top Ten Tuesday: Fairy Tales Re-Told

toptentuesday2

It’s been a couple of weeks since I participated in the Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by the Broke and the Bookish).   So, I’m trying to get back into the swing of things with this week’s topic: Top Fairy Tale Re-Tellings.

When I first heard about this week’s topic, I couldn’t help but be reminded of the 80’s sitcom The Charmings.  Basically it’s a fish out of water story with Snow White and her family waking up after a 1,000 year slumber in the modern world.  The only thing I really recall about it was a joke where one character said, “Fi-Fi-Fo-Fum!” and Snow White was shocked and replied, “The f-word!”  (Yes, this is what passed for network TV comedy back in the day…)

I’m going to include the opening credits from season one to give you an idea of what it was like or maybe even a trip down memory lane.

And now, onto my list.

1. The Princess Bride by William Goldman.
2. Enchantment by Orson Scott Card
3. Fables series by Bill Willingham
4. Tigerheart by Peter David
5. Enchanted by Alethea Kontis
6. Beauty by Sheri S. Teper
7. The Sleeping Beauty trilogy by Anne Rice

I think I’ll leave it at seven this week.   I will add I’ve got Uprooted on my TBR pile and I have a feeling it could be on this list if I’d read it.

6 Comments

Filed under meme, Top Ten Tuesday

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Fairy Tales Re-Told

  1. Enchanted was so close to making my list this week!

    Check out my TTT.

  2. Lillian @ Mom With a Reading Problem

    I love The Princess Bride (book and movie)! I didn’t even think to add it to my list this week. I think I’m going to have to check out The Charmings 😉

  3. hlmorris85

    I have never heard of The Charmings but omg I think I need it in my life yesterday.

  4. Oh my gosh that looks like such a cute TV series (I know I’ll be watching it on Youtube later). Great list! I just love this week’s theme.

    My TTT: http://tsundokubooks.blogspot.com/2015/08/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-fairytale.html?showComment=1438716330623#c2467615209016775937

  5. From your list I’ve only read the first one in the Anne Rice series. Great list though!
    Check out my Top 10

Leave a Reply

