Review: Born With Teeth by Kate Mulgrew

Born with Teeth

While Kate Mulgrew’s memoir Born With Teeth touches on some of the iconic roles that brought her to the public eye, the focus isn’t on her career but instead on the personal choices that made her who she is. And while the Star Trek fan in me hopes that someday she’ll revisit her time on Voyager in greater depth, I can’t help but really like what Mulgrew shares here.

She’s not afraid to be unconventional, witty and self-deprecating, many times within the same paragraph. As Mulgrew relates the story of her life and how that shaped her into the actress and person she’s become, I couldn’t help but be fascinated by it. Mulgrew is just as quick to point our her shortcomings and faults as she is her strengths. And this memoir is the stronger for it.

Hearing of her decision to give up her child to adoption early in her life and career and then impact that has on her made me think. Mulgrew’s story is one of love and redemption and you can’t help but begin to cheer for her as her life unfolds.

I feel like I understand a bit more of what Mulgrew brought to the role of Janeway and it makes me appreciate her work on Voyager a bit more. It also makes me appreciate her more as an actress and a person.

2 Comments

Filed under #20booksofsummer, book review

2 responses to “Review: Born With Teeth by Kate Mulgrew

  1. I should watch for this one. I knew of her long before she showed up as Janeway – and I was thrilled when I saw the announcement. But I know nothing about her personal life.

  2. Pingback: Twenty Books of Summer Challenge 2015 | Nashville Book Worm

Leave a Reply

