Booking Through Thursday: Non-Reader Reactions

btt button

What do non-reader friends think about your reading habits? Do they understand? Are they sympathetic? Or are they always trying to get you to “get your nose out of that book?”

I think all things have to be in a balance.  And while I do enjoy getting lost in a book (or tv show or movie or any form of pop culture entertainment), I try not to let that come before relationships with friends, family or the cats.  (Though the cats do enjoy when I read and have a lap they can curl up in which the reading is occurring!)   I think my family and friends understand my loving of reading and support it.

This time of year, I just don’t see how you can’t go to the pool without at least packing a book in the bag (or your e-reader) along with the towel, sunglasses and sunscreen.  Poolside (or beach reading if you’re there) is one of the great pleasures of summer!

And I use the library so much that I figure I’m getting my fair share out of it as well as the fair share of people who don’t read as much or don’t use the library!

4 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

4 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Non-Reader Reactions

  1. Even some of my reader friends are stunned by the amount of time I spending reading (I average 5 hours a day), so I just don’t tell non-readers. Although, my husband is what some would call a non-reader (he actually does read quite a bit but it’s mostly technical reading), and he has no issues with my reading.

  2. I was very lucky to grow up in a family where both parents were readers. I guess I tended to associate with readers, so haven’t really had any issues arise.

  3. I am very fortunate to have many friends who are also readers, as well as my husband and daughter. I never read if I’m in a social situation so I’ve never been told to get my nose out of the book. I am asked why I own so many books!

  4. Kwizgiver

    Most of my friends are readers, or at least they get that I am a reader. I totally agree with you about having a book in hand to enjoy summer!

Leave a Reply

