Twenty Books of Summer Challenge 2015

20-books-of-summer-master-image

UPDATE: (September 9)  Challenge completed!!!!

So, I stumbled across this challenge a week or so ago and thought — I’d really like to participate.  I then promptly forgot to sign up for it.

But better late than never, right!  (And you can join too because the challenge runs until September 14!)

The Twenty Books of Summer Challenge is hosted by Cathy at 746 Books.   In previous summers, I’ve come up with a list of books I wanted to read that summer, which by mid-July I’ve read about half of and then picked up a few others.  This summer, I’m going to try and follow my list, but I make no promises.  I say this because I can be easily distracted by new shiny books either on the library or store shelf or arriving on my e-reader.  

I’m breaking the challenge down into a couple of categories to try and whittle down my TBR pile — physical and e-reader.

So, here we go:

1.  Finders Keepers by Stephen King
2.  Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee
3.  One Step Away by Eric Wilson
4.  When We Were Animals by Joshua Gaylord
5.  The Fine Art of Truth or Dare by Melissa Jensen
6.  The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu
7.  Born With Teeth by Kate Mulgrew
8.  Star Trek: New Frontier: The Returned by Peter David

ARCs from NetGalley/Amazon Vine

9.   I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest
10. A House Divided by Robert Whitlow
11. Those Girls by Lauren Saft
12. Alive by Scott Sigler
13. The Fold  by Peter Cline
14. The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood
15. Black Eyed Susans  by Julia Heaberlin

Audiobooks:

16.  The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler
17.  Doctor Who and the Deadly Assassin by Terrance Dicks
18.  Doctor Who: Frontios by Christopher H. Bidmead
19.  The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Collected Comics/Graphic Novels:

20.  The Flash, Volume 2: Rogues Revolution
21.  The Flash: Volume 3: Gorilla Warfare

Read-Along:

22.  Kushiel’s Dart by Jaqueline Carey

Since the challenge started June 1, I’m included a couple of books that I’ve already started reading (since June 1, mind you!)  Let’s see how far we get!

July 20 UPDATE:  I’ve decided to change a couple of my books on here!  It’s just how I roll! It’s also based on my being a moody reader!  

18 Comments

Filed under #20booksofsummer, challenge, Reading challenge, Twenty Books of Summer 2015

18 responses to “Twenty Books of Summer Challenge 2015

  1. Glad you’re playing! You’ll make it, no problem. I thought that making my list would be difficult, but by the time I included all the various books already scheduled as group reads or for other Challenges, I only had a handful of empty slots for ‘personal’ picks.

  2. Great list, not heard of most of them but looking forward to your reviews 🙂

  3. Ana

    Oooh you got Alive *jealous* My request was declined *snif snif*
    Great list! You can find mine here, if you’re curious.

    Good luck in completing yours!

    • I’m looking forward to seeing what Sigler does with a young adult novel. I enjoyed the Rookie when I listened to as a podiobook many moons ago.

      • Ana

        I need to read more of his stuff. The only book I read by him is Infection, but I remember really enjoying it.

  4. I know what you mean about being easily distracted by new shiny books! Therefore, I would be a total failure at this challenge!

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR | Nashville Book Worm

  6. Pingback: 20 Books of Summer! | 746 Books

  7. Woo-hoo! Honored to be on this list. And Ana, I suggest you try CONTAGIOUS, Part II of the INFECTED trilogy. Would be a good way to get back into the groove.

  8. Uprooted is on my list — I just started it. Looks amazing!

  9. Sounds like a great challenge. I think Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee will be on a lot of lists this summer. Hope your challenge goes well.

    Thanks for visiting The Book Connection.

  10. I love reading challenges!! But like you, I get distracted by new shiny books. lol. I can never stick to my original list!

  11. Jewel

    That’s quite a list! I’m very impressed. I also get distracted by shiny new books. Because I homeschool my kids, we take very frequent trips to the library and my goal lately is to leave without a book for me (easier said than done!) I also find myself getting distracted by all of the fun stuff on NetGalley. I forget how many I request and then the approvals start coming in! Any way, good luck! Will be watching for more great reviews!

  12. Wow – you’re doing so well with this one. I’ve done virtually no challenges at all this year – except for personally challenging myself to 100 books (which is what I usually aim for – and so isn’t really a challenge at all!)
    Lynn 😀

    • It’s been a challenge at times, but I think with a month or so to go I’m in the home stretch and can make it! It helped that I edited the list slightly! 🙂

  13. Pingback: Reviews:One Step Away by Eric Wilson & The Fine Art of Truth or Dare by Melissa Jensen | Nashville Book Worm

Leave a Reply

