Booking Through Thursday: Magazines

btt button

What magazines do you subscribe to? Personal ones? Professional ones?

Or do you only/mostly pick up your periodicals at the newsstand?

How do you feel about digital editions versus print?

Do you save the old copies after you read them? Or promptly recycle them?

Right now, I’ve only got a subscription to Entertainment Weekly. In the past, I’ve had subscriptions to Sports Illustrated and I used to collect Doctor Who Magazine back in the day. With the rise of the Internet, I found my collecting of DWM dwindled because I could find most of the news reported on the pages at various places on-line. I also found (this was during the wilderness years) that the features on the classic serials and actors were getting a bit repetitive since (at the time) there were no new stories headed our way. I did enjoy the reviews though. I also have subscriptions to the free portions of certain sci-fi and genre magazines that will give you a sample of a short story each month.

Some magazines I’ll keep a copy of after I’ve read them (or read what I want to out of them) while others I’ll recycle or give to my local friends of the library.

Part of me likes the digital editions — EW makes theirs fun and takes advantage of digital bells and whistles — while another part of me enjoys having the actual edition. The advantage of the digital versions is they don’t pile up around the house. Instead they just pile up on your e-reader.

2 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

2 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Magazines

  1. Kwizgiver

    I haven’t looked at the digital Entertainment Weekly–I still get the print copies.

  2. I have a subscription to Biblical Archaeology Review, because I’m a weirdo and find their articles fascinating. I used to have subscriptions to Archaeology and Smithsonian as well, but haven’t had them in a while.

    I prefer the print editions myself. I toss them in my bag and read them on the bus. When I’m done, unless there’s an article that I really want to keep, I tend to give them to family and friends.

Leave a Reply

