Musing Mondays: Vacation Reading

musingmondays51

Starting the week off with Musing Mondays hosted by A Daily Rhythm.

This week’s random question makes me think about summer reading: Where is the strangest place you’ve ever read a book? OR… Where is the strangest place you’ve ever found a crazy-good book, unexpectedly?

It’s time for summer reading!   For me, this usually means enjoying a book with a bottle of cool water after I’ve finished swimming laps.   I also will admit I’m strangely fascinated by the summer reading lists for various school systems that are usually available at my local library.  I’m always curious to see what books are still on the list from when I was in school and what books have been added to the list that I may want to try.

As for unusual places to read or find a read, I will have to say that I once found a great book at a paperback swap library at the beach.  I was staying out on the beach with my family for a few days and found the shelf there.  I traded out one paperback I’d finished for another novel.

Of course, part of it could be that I got to enjoy both books sitting in a chair on the sandy beach, enjoying the warm winter days in Hawaii as opposed to being back in the continental United States where it was significantly cooler.

And if we count audio books as reading, I suppose you could say that I read a lot of books while running, bicycling and swimming (at least until my waterproof iPods battery life crashed out!)

1 Comment

Filed under meme, Musing Mondays

One response to “Musing Mondays: Vacation Reading

  1. Thanks for sharing your answer. I don’t really have a place that I would consider strange, I usually just get my books from Barnes & Noble.

Leave a Reply

