Way Back Wednesday: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

waybackwednesday

Mid-week means it’s time for Way Back Wednesday hosted by A Well Read Woman.  This meme asks us to look back to those books we’ve read that have had a special impact on us.

anneofggFor this week’s selection, I decided to go with Anne of Green Gables.

The series was first recommended to me by either a librarian as part of the summer reading program or by a teacher at school during the reading portion of my middle school years.   And I’ve got to be honest that the first time I tried to read the book, I couldn’t get past the feeling that the opening paragraph was just a run-on sentence.  Frustrated, I threw the novel aside and didn’t think anything more about it until….

(If you’re a certain age, you probably know where this is headed)

….the PBS miniseries.

I watched the miniseries (or bits of it) with my parents and decided that maybe I should give the novel another chance. So, we headed back to the library and I checked it out again.   I made it past the opening paragraph and this time, something stuck.  I found myself quickly reading the novel and then looking for its sequel.

I’ll admit I didn’t read the entire series (I’m not sure I ever have).  I got to book three and began to lose interest in the adventures of an older Anne. But there’s something about her in the first two books that I really liked and I enjoyed reading.   I wonder if I might not try the series again as an adult and see if I have any more patience with the later novels.

I think I’ve  seen Megan Follows in guest roles on other TV shows from time to time and I find it difficult not to associate her with Anne Shirley and the pigtails she wore.

anne-and-matthew21

3 Comments

Filed under meme, Way Back Wednesay

3 responses to “Way Back Wednesday: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

  1. I remember the miniseries! I think I saw bits and pieces too. I tried to read Anne of Green Gables. I think it was one I made it about halfway through and just never finished. It’s been so long I can’t remember.

  2. Anne Shirley was a big childhood love of mine. I actually entered a drama eisteddfod reenacting a scene, I was so excited, my mother let me die my hair red! I was eleven, so it was a big deal. I’m with you, Megan Will always be Anne to me. I’ve got the whole tv series on VHS 🙂 It actually covered white a lot – It even went into when Anne and Gilbert are married and Gilbert goes off to war as a doctor. I will admit that I only read the first three book as a child, but I have the whole (10 I think it is without looking it up) as ebooks and I intend to read them one of these days.

  3. Hahahaha 🙂 I DO remember the PBS miniseries! Great post!

Leave a Reply

