Top Ten Tuesday: Book I Won’t Be Reading

toptentuesday2

Happy Cinco de Mayo!  And welcome to Top Ten Tuesday hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s question asks us to ponder those books that we will never read.  I’ll try to come up with a couple but I may not make it to ten this week.

1.  Anything by John Norman
I read Timeslave a couple of years ago as part of a book club and was completely unimpressed.   I did a bit of research into Norman and found out that this book was pretty much indicative of his style and themes.  So, I’m done and won’t be reading any more of his offerings.

2.  The Fifty Shades books
As the Twilight popularity was ramping up, I was curious enough to download the digital audio editions from my library’s web site and listen to them.  The series is one of diminishing returns and it made me realize that some books just aren’t for me. Enter this series, which has been immensely popular.  And I’ve decided these aren’t for me and I don’t have any inclination to read them.

3.  The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan
Part of my hesitation to start the series is that I’m at least a million or so pages behind and the prospect of trying to catch up seems a bit daunting.    And part of it is that I’ve heard from people I trust that the books get more and more muddled as you go along.   That adds up to a series I most likely won’t get around to reading in this lifetime.

4.  The Incarnations of Immortality by Piers Anthony
I had friends in high school who raved about these books and encouraged me to pick them up.  I picked up the first one and I’ve tried to read it several times, never making it past the first chapter.  I couldn’t get into the book and I’ve determined that the series isn’t for me.

5.   The Dune spin-offs from Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert
I read the first two or three spin-offs that Anderson and Herbert wrote and each time I found myself getting frustrated with the books.   Part of it was what I felt was an unnecessary amount of summarizing everything that’s happened up until now that seems to take place every three or four chapters.    The original Frank Herbert Dune novels asked readers to pay attention and recall details from earlier in the book without the need to have characters sum it all up every twenty pages.

6.  Any more of the Chronicles of Thomas Covenant by Stephen R. Donaldson
I read Lord Foul’s Bane earlier this year and was entirely underwhelmed.  I tried to read the Gap series a few years ago and was not a fan.  I’m done with Donaldson.

Well, I think that’s it.  I’m sure I’ll think of four more once I hit post. But these are the ones that spring to mind.

10 Comments

Filed under meme, Top Ten Tuesday

10 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Book I Won’t Be Reading

  1. Great list – I almost wish I could put the 50 Shades trilogy on my list, but alas I read them all – each one worse than the one before. At least now I have a benchmark for terrible books 🙂
    Here’s my list: http://bornandread.com/2015/05/05/top-ten-books-i-will-probably-never-read/

  2. I unfortunately have to say I read the 50 Shades books because I hate not knowing what everyone is talking about. At least they were a quick read.

  3. hlmorris85

    Fifty Shades is gonna get a lot of knocks today…

  4. Fifty Shades was on my list today too (definitely getting a lot of knocks!). I haven’t heard of any of the others on your list.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/05/top-ten-tuesday-3/

  5. Lol, the 50 Shades Trilofy mad my TTT list post this week and several other bloggers mention the books too!! Here’s my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/05/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-i-will.html

  6. I don’t have any inclination to read the 50 Shades books either.

    Check out my TTT.

  7. The Wheel of Time books are on my list also. 50 Shades – well, I read the first book and totally hated it. I couldn’t get that time back but at least I ddin’t read the next two!
    Lynn 😀

  8. LOL i don’t blame you for not wanting to read the 50 shades books (although in all honesty, i did! you’re not missing much) great list this week!
    and thanks for checking out my TTT post today and introducing me to your blog! i love it! can’t wait to see your next post!
    Emily

Leave a Reply

