Monday Musings: Influences

musingmondays51

Welcome to a new week and the latest installment of Monday Musings, hosted by A Daily Rhythm 

This week’s random question asks, “Who (or what) influences your reading most?”

I know we’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but when it comes to literary material that can be one of the first things to draw me in.  Not just the artwork on the cover, but the author name or the title or sometimes even a blurb or pull quote, if it’s by an author or reviewer that I’ve got good recommendations from in the past.

Another influence can be the source of the book and if there is a time limit to it.  If it’s a library book, I may read it first because the book is due by a certain date.  And if it’s a book that is high demand and my check out time is less, it may get bumped up to the top of the reading list.  This can also happen digitally — borrowing books from the library is great, but they expire on the exact date and time they are due.  Sometimes with physical books I will keep them an extra day or so and pay the fine to finish them up.  This can’t and doesn’t happen with digital library books — once I hit the due date, they’re gone!

On another level, an influence can be whether or not I enjoyed the author’s previous work I read. If I did, I’m likely to try some of his or her back catalog or be on the lookout for a new book.

8 Comments

Filed under meme, Monday Musings

8 responses to “Monday Musings: Influences

  1. I’m a cover-junkie, too. 😉

  2. An author’s previous work will definitely figure into my decision to read a new book. And once I read a book that I love, I do often search the backlist for more of the same. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    I just realized, from your post, that I haven’t yet taken advantage of borrowing e-books from the library…something to do in the future!

  3. Great answers. I am drawn to book covers too. If I don’t like the cover, even if I bother to read the synopsis, I probably won’t read the book.

    Hope you’ll stop by and check out my answer to today’s question at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2015/03/musing-mondays-mar-9.html

  4. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, although I’ve gotten away from judging books by their covers. I ended up with too many that I didn’t like.

  5. Oh I have been known to buy a book based on the cover. I will typically look at the blurb first but sometimes a beautiful cover just draws me in. 🙂

  6. I think I’m mainly influenced by other bloggers at the moment. I feel like I have a good mix of people and I trust their opinion so it’s a good way to find really awesome books!
    Lynn 😀

  7. I always feel ashamed to admit it because it’s such a big no-no, but a cover really does it for me. Then I go to the blurb. It’s the same with the title — some just have this sound about them that grab me, and I go searching for a blurb/reviews.

Leave a Reply

