Way Back Wednesday: Mr. Pine’s Purple House by Leonard Kessler

waybackwednesday

Time to set the coordinates for Way Back Wednesday hosted by A Well Read Woman.

mrpineThis week’s book that left an indelible mark on my memory comes from my earliest  days as a reader.   It’s the classic book Mr. Pine’s Purple House.

Mr. Pine lives on Vine Street, where all the houses look alike.  Trying to distinguish his house from his neighbors, Mr. Pine slowly begins to add things to his home’s exterior, only to become more and more alarmed as his neighbors do the same thing.   Mr. Pine eventually decides to paint his house purple to help him find his home when he comes home weary from working all day.

This is a book that I read a LOT as a young reader.  I loved it then and I was encouraged to see that apparently a lot of other people felt the same way about it — getting it brought back into print to celebrate it’s 40th anniversary a couple of years ago.  I’ve still got my original, well-read, well-loved copy of this book and it’s sitting on my shelf today (my parents kept up with it for years and I guess I’m finally mature enough to keep up with it now! 🙂 )

It’s a book that I hope to share with my kids someday.   And I hope they enjoy it as much as I did.

If you’ve got kids, I highly recommend this book. Or if you haven’t read it, see if your local library has a copy and check it out.  It will be worth the strange glances you get from the library staff for an adult checking out a children’s book.

Read it to yourself or read it out loud to someone.   I think you’ll have a lot of fun.

2 Comments

Filed under meme, Way Back Wednesday

2 responses to “Way Back Wednesday: Mr. Pine’s Purple House by Leonard Kessler

  1. Looks like a very charming little book! 🙂 Thanks again for participating!

  2. Pingback: Musing Mondays: Childhood Favorites | Nashville Book Worm

Leave a Reply

