Review: Alone Forever: The Singles Collection by Liz Prince

Alone Forever: The Singles Collection

As I’ve said in the past, one of the fun things about NetGalley is skimming through the comics and graphic novels section and finding treasures there I might not have heard of before or might have overlooked.

Liz Prince’s Alone Forever: A Singles Collection is one such collection. The series of comic strips examine Liz’s attempts to find love in the modern dating world that includes things like OK Cupid and texting your feelings to someone and then awkwardly waiting for a reply (this cartoon reminded me a lot of the Seinfeld episode where George tells his latest date that he loves her, only to not get a response.).

For the most part, Liz’s observation are self-deprecating, witty and amusing. I can’t help but hope she’s exaggerating some aspects of these stories, if only for her own sake. But having been out there in the dating world once upon a time, I have a feeling that some of the more extreme quirks aren’t necessarily all that exaggerated.

This collection was a quick, pleasant read and it’s one that makes me curious to see what else Prince has to offer. I may have to seek our other collections by Prince or just surf over to her web site and see what other observations on life she has to offer.

In the interest of full disclosure, I received a digital ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

1 Comment

Filed under ARC, book review, review

One response to “Review: Alone Forever: The Singles Collection by Liz Prince

  1. This sounds like so much fun! And I wonder how many of her stories I’ll be able to relate to lol (I misssed this one entirely on Netgalley! Thanks for sharing!)

Leave a Reply

