Musing Mondays: Favorite Genre

musingmondays51

Starting off the week with Musing Mondays, hosted by Should Be Reading.  

This week’s random topic is: What’s your favorite genre? Why?

Science-fiction is my favorite genre.  It’s the section of the bookstore or library that I gravitate toward first (assuming they have a separate section for sci-fi, of course!) and that I enjoy browsing to find new works, catch up on some of the previous novels I’ve missed or consider re-reading.    There are a lot of things I enjoy about the genre — the diversity of authors and stories, the exploration of the future and making predictions about what could be around the next corner.  I also enjoy that the stories and novels  can be the starting point for conversations and deeper looks at the meanings behind things or the commentary it could be making on our world today.  And sometimes there are just some thrilling stories that keep the pages turning.

6 Comments

Filed under meme, Musing Mondays

6 responses to “Musing Mondays: Favorite Genre

  1. We share a favorite. Enjoy your reading.

  2. I don’t often read Sci-Fi, although a couple of years ago, when I joined The Eclectic Reading Challenge, I did sample some, and enjoyed them.

    Here are my BLUE MONDAYS MUSINGS

  3. I used to read them all the time – then wandered away – maybe I should try some new authors and see if I can be tempted back:)

  4. I have always steered clear of Sci-Fi believing it wasn’t for me but having read some fantastic reviews of some books I’ve realised that there is more to offer from this genre than I imagined. Thanks for visiting my MM https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/03/02/musing-mondays-march-2/

  5. It’s the first place I go too! Too bad it is usually the smallest section in the library.

Leave a Reply

