Way Back Wednesday Book Review: Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary

waybackwednesday

April over at A Well Read Woman is hosting the Way Back Wednesday Book Review, an opportunity to reflect each week on books we’ve read in the past that left a lasting impression and to write a mini-review.

Over my lifetime, I’ve read a LOTof books.   Some have stayed with me, others it may take me a moment or two to remember reading them.

That is definitely NOT the case when it comes to Beverly Cleary’s Ramona series of books.  Growing up, I purchased all the Ramona books that were available and read them multiple times.    Each one is memorable and I read them enough times growing up that I feel like I could recite large chunks of them from memory.

Which brings us to Ramona the Pest.   It’s the second book in the series and the first one to focus on Ramona.  (She’s in the first novel, Beezus and Ramona, but that one is more about Beezus).    Of course, Ramona is told that she’s a pest and she spends a lot of the book trying to figure out if she really is one or not.

ramonathepest

Ramona is also on her way to kindergarten and she’s created all kind of elaborate visions of just how finally getting to go to school will go.    The scene that sticks out to me is one that takes place on her first day of school.  Her teacher sits Ramona at a desk and tells Ramona to sit there for the present.    The teacher means to sit there for right now until the final seating order is made up and Ramona thinks she’s going to get a gift for following instructions.  

Of course, the level of misunderstanding gets ratcheted up higher and higher as Ramona begins to wonder just how long she’ll have to sit there and what exactly the nature of the present might be.  There’s also the temptation by fellow classmates to move desks, which Ramona refuses because, again, present!

It’s slipped my mind exactly how all this plays out, though I believe it ends with Ramona feeling silly for not understanding exactly what her teacher was saying.

It tempts me to see if my local library has the book on audio and give it a listen again.

I’ve shared this book many times with friends and family members with children and I hope to continue doing so.  If I’m blessed to have kids someday, I hope to share this book with them and hope they like it as much as I did growing up.

6 Comments

Filed under meme, Way Back Wednesday

6 responses to “Way Back Wednesday Book Review: Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary

  1. Ohhhh, I remember these books! LOVE!!! ❤

  2. Me too! I grew up reading and loving the Ramona books. In fact, I enjoyed them so much I passed them onto my siblings, thinking I’d just purchase them again when I had my own place. It took sometime to find hardcover editions, but I finally have them all again.

  3. Pingback: Musing Mondays: What Are You Reading? | Nashville Book Worm

  4. Pingback: Musing Mondays: Childhood Favorites | Nashville Book Worm

Leave a Reply

