Musing Mondays: Similar Tastes

musingmondays51

The start of a new week means it’s time again for Musing Mondays, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s random question asks:  Do you have people in your life (face-to-face) that are readers like you? Or, do you find that you have to reach out to those online in order to find like-minded folk?

It’s a little of both, actually.   I have friends, colleagues and family members who share my enjoyment of reading and I enjoy getting to occasionally discuss our reading and to share recommendations.

But I will also admit I’ve got a solid network of on-line friends who share my love of reading and who have similar (and many times very different) interests.   My on-line friends often help me find a book that I might have overlooked or not heard of yet or share a conversation about an old favorite.  Many times I find the conversation on social networking sites fascinating just to see the reactions various people have to books I’ve read or plan to read.  I try to avoid SPOILERS and so I may not read a full review until after I’ve finished the book in question.

8 Comments

Filed under meme, Monday Musings

8 responses to “Musing Mondays: Similar Tastes

  1. Our answers are similar.

  2. I like your answer thanks for sharing!

  3. I also connect more to online friends when choosing books to read. And I love how others online have encouraged me to move out of my comfort zone. Thanks for sharing, and here are my BLUE MONDAYS MUSINGS

  4. I connect more with online friends as readers than my friends IRL. Most of them read different genres than me or slower so they are never prepared for a book club.

  5. While I do love chatting with my friends and family members about books, I always find so much joy in discovering other bloggers and readers online who feel the same way I do about my favorite books. I love making those connections and having exhilarating conversations via twitter and blogging.

  6. Your answer is very similar to mine – I do like talking about books face-to-face especially because I have a solid network of book bloggers so I can recommend more widely(and not just those that I enjoy) but talking to others who share your interest means that I find out about books that I may have missed. Now both elements are essential 🙂 Here is my MM https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/02/09/musing-mondays-february-9/

  7. I seem to have more online chums because of my hectic schedule. I am often talking books online at odd hours. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this question.

    My MM talks about my blogging week. You can visit me at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2015/02/musing-mondays-february-9.html

  8. Bit of both really , Not so many who share all my taste’s in reading but all who enjoy talking books:)

Leave a Reply

