Musing Monday: My Collection Is So Big….

cake_1473482c

Welcome to this week’s Musing Monday, a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading.

As I complete this week’s meme, I am celebrating my birthday.  I’m now officially as old as the ultimate answer to life, the universe and everything from The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  If you haven’t read the book or listened to the original radio show, I highly encourage you to add it to your TBR or TBL immediately!

How many books, approximately, do you think you have in your personal collection?

Honestly, I’ve lost count of how many books I have.  We’re fortunate to live close to a great used book store and so we make a trip once a quarter or so to exchange one round of  books for another.

I do have some books that I’ve kept for various reasons.  Some are autographed copies of books (I’ve got a couple of books autographed by Garrison Keillor,  one by Peter David (should be two, but my ex-wife kept my autographed copy of one of my favorite, first-edition TNG novels…no, I’m not bitter, why do you ask?) and a few others).   I’ve kept some books that I enjoyed or are on my favorite list (To Kill A Mockingbird, for example) or that we wanted to have a full set.

But a lot of books I read and put onto a shelf that is the transition shelf.  They may be kept, they may go to the used book store as a trade credit for more books or donated to our local library or VA for others to enjoy.

So, needless to say the exact number of books in my personal collection varies and can be a bit fluid.

4 Comments

Filed under meme, Monday Musings

4 responses to “Musing Monday: My Collection Is So Big….

  1. I do like the idea of the transition shelf…and I really need to count my books someday. I have been doing a bit of purging over the past few months, taking books to the library, etc. I would be sad about that autographed copy you “lost.” I can relate to losing things in a divorce.

    Here’s MY MUSINGS POST

  2. That transition shelf sounds good, there are some old favourites I’ve kept but now I’ve run out of shelf room I tend to move some of the older ones to the charity shop but I have to admit I’m always reluctant to do so. Here is my MM https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/01/19/musing-mondays-january-19/

  3. Happy Birthday! It turns out that my post today celebrates Edgar Allan Poe (January 19, 1809 – October 7, 1849): http://wp.me/pZnGI-hs Puts you in great company.

  4. A transition shelf sounds like an interesting idea.

Leave a Reply

