Monday Musings: Bookish Rant

musingmondays51

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading.  This week, we’ve been presented with several topics for the new year, but this one really caught my eye….

Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!

I dropped into a local, large chain brick and mortar store during the holidays and was a bit exasperated.   A lot it has to do with the diminished space in book stores for actual reading material and how much more is given over to cards, games, toys and other items.   There is nothing wrong with these items, mind you but I feel like space for actual books is shrinking…or maybe it’s just that the types of books I want to read aren’t in fashion so there’s less space for them.

Along those lines, I get a bit frustrated when covers of books don’t list it as part of a series.   I’m one of those who wants to read a series from the beginning and not jump in halfway through.   Along those lines, I get frustrated when a new entry in a series comes out and I can’t find book one on the shelves at the bookstore.  (Again, the whole shrinking space for other non-book related stuff).

I know that I can purchase said books other places on-line or special order them if I want.  But that takes away some of the fun of the impulse buy of a book.

Maybe it’s just me and I’m too old fashioned….

Now, you crazy kids…get off my lawn!

5 Comments

Filed under meme, Monday Musings

5 responses to “Monday Musings: Bookish Rant

  1. I totally get you about the series books! I’ve been caught that way quite a few times.

  2. I understand what you’re saying. I don’t visit a bookstore to buy cards, CDs, movies, or anything else. I simply want to look at floor to ceiling, wall-to-wall books. Is that too much to ask?

    Hope you’ll visit me today at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2015/01/musing-mondays-jan-5-2015.html

  3. I also get irritated when I accidentally start a series halfway through–that happened to me last week and I ended up just returning the book to the library and I did not bother to look for the first book. Not being able to find book one of a series also annoys me.

  4. I too don’t enjoy visiting bookstores that have been overtaken by “sidelines”. But as a longtime bookseller (I’ve worked at a small indie bookstore for 16 years) I can explain what’s going on: those items are more profitable than books, with better margins. Frankly, some bookstores are being kept afloat by the fact that they sell gift items. If you attend a booksellers’ conference, there will be multiple seminars on ways to diversify your business by adding cards, toys, puzzles, you name it. It’s very sad, IMO . . . and our store, while selling some of these things, has tried very hard to devote the vast majority of our shelf space to BOOKS. On a separate note — have you visited Parnassus Books? I’m taking a trip to Nashville in March for a wedding and am excited to check out Ann Patchett’s store!

    • I understand the dilemma that book shops face and that as a business they have to do what it takes to stay in business. I just find it a bit disheartening that not enough people read to keep the bookstores going based solely on (what I think) should be their target product. I also realize that with e-readers that many impulse purchases are done on-line these days and that contributes to a decline in printed books being sold.

      And I have been to Parnassus, though it’s a bit far from my house and can be devilish to get into sometimes. I like it a great deal and want to support it.

Leave a Reply

