The Flash: Plastique

fla105a0448bjpg-eb5f10_960wI’m not quite sure why The Flash took a week off only four weeks into the season, but I have to admit I missed seeing it last week.   But the short hiatus allowed me to catch-up on some other super-hero themed shows (hoping to do a big round-up of those soon, but don’t hold me to it).  That said, I was still happy to return to the world of Barry Allen this week and see how things were developing.

On the whole, I liked “Plastique,” but I will admit that there were a few details that didn’t quite all add up in the end.  As I said last time, the sheer wonder that Barry has in discovering just what his new-found abilities can do (running up a building, walking on water) is one of the factors that makes this show really work for me.   Cisco and Wells’ computations of just how fast Barry would have to run to complete both tasks was nicely done.  It also dovetailed nicely into the theme of the episode — how Barry is lucky to have found this team and what he could be if he hadn’t.   With Plastique, we see someone impacted by the explosion who doesn’t necessarily want to be a psycho killer, but who doesn’t quite know what to do with her powers.  I kept thinking it might have been interesting to see her around for a couple of episodes in a recurring way as she came to grips with her powers and their implications for her.   It might have been nice to see her trying to fit in as part of the team and further underscore the theme of friendship from this episode.  (And maybe it would have been a way to fit Iris into the episode a bit more naturally is she because jealous of the bond that Barry and Plastique shared).

It would also have given a bit more time for the whole military pursuit of Plastique plotline to unfold and not feel quite as rushed.

Of course, they could’ve done a lot more with that if we hadn’t had a lot of time spend with Iris and her new-found fascination with the Flash.  It’s interesting to see how Barry’s plan to try and get her to stop writing about him backfires when he challenges her to write under her own name.   And while I found the whole “let’s not see each other for a while” scene at the end a bit of a disappointment, I’m not sure I’d trade the scene where Barry goes to her in costume and modulates his voice so she won’t recognize him.   I’m curious how he learned he has the ability but I’ll just add it to the growing list of fun powers that Barry discovers and uses.

For the third episode in a row, the series abandons the flashbacks that work well on Arrow but didn’t gel in the second episode.  I’m glad to see the series finding its own footing and not being just a copy of what works on Arrow (even though I really like that show).    I also think the coda sequences are among the most intriguing on the show, especially this week and the implication that Gorilla Grood is coming to the universe sooner rather than later.  I am curious to see how this will be realized on-screen and as a nemesis for the Flash.

One thing I have also wondered about is just how long everyone will continue to blindly trust Wells.   With Wells telling Plastique that she should seek out General Eiling and remove him from the picture, it might have been interesting to see her stick around and reveal this to someone in team Flash.  Or to have them uncover it or begin to suspect that Wells may have more to his agenda that he’s letting on.   I figured out early that Eiling and Wells would have a connection and I have to admit I was glad to see Wells not remove Eiling as a threat, just yet.  Clearly he could become one since he’s aware the Flash exists now and his focus could change.

Of course, a lot of this assumes that Plastique is really dead  and not just comic book dead. Part of me feels like there was a bit more to the character to explore and that she could return in a future installment.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Flash, TV review, TV round-up

Leave a Reply

