Booking Through Thursday: Mystery

btt button

Do you read mystery novels? If so, why? Is it the mysteries themselves that appeal to you? The puzzle-solving? The murders? Or why don’t you read them? What about them doesn’t appeal?

Yes, I read mysteries –and I really enjoy them.

What I like most about a good mystery is one that offerings enough red herrings that it keeps me guessing until the culprit is revealed. But I can be picky about it — I don’t like red herrings for their own sake or just to try and throw me off. I also like to feel like the solution hasn’t come out of left field and that it’s been earned by the author and those he or she has solving the mystery.

Some of my favorite mystery writers include Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Elizabeth George, Michael Connelly and Laura Lippman.

1 Comment

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

One response to “Booking Through Thursday: Mystery

  1. I totally agree. Endings that come out of nowhere are annoying and make no sense!

    My BTT

Leave a Reply

