Booking Through Thursday: Hated

btt button

If there was one book you could make sure nobody ever read again … what would it be? And why?

We’ve all read books we don’t care for.   But one book that I read and really disliked was John Norman’s Time Slave.

This book was chosen by a sci-fi and fantasy book club for discussion. Otherwise it’s unlikely I’d have ever picked it up or read it all the way through.   It’s a misogynistic tale of a future woman who goes back in time and becomes the wife of a cavemen.  And she likes it because the caveman keeps her in line and is more man than any of the men of her century.

The book is terribly written and not really worth the paper it’s printed on.  The bad part was that this  book was out of print at the time so I had to go out of my way to find an affordable copy to read.

It was so bad that I refused to take it to my local used bookstore when I was done with it and trade it in for something else.  I didn’t want anyone else to pick up the book and be suckered into reading a trite, terrible written, awful book like I had been.

I’ve disliked a lot of books over the years, but I hated Time Slave.

Don’t read it….

4 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

4 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Hated

  1. No, I wont ever pick it up. Thanks for the shout out…..!!

  2. You too don’t pick Where’s my Son? by John Dalglish.

    The reasons are posted here

  3. I particularly hated The Enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie. It was misogynistic and boring. Not at all enchanting and actually quite offensive.

  4. This does sound ever so slightly misogynistic actually. Sometimes I’m really curious why people dislike books which makes me want to read them, but in this case I’ll leave it be. Here’s my BBT post, hope you have a good end to the week!
    Juli @ Universe in Words

Leave a Reply

