November is SciFi Month!

scifipostheader2

Thanks to a fellow book blogger, I discovered that November is SciFi Month hosted by Rinn Reads.  If you’ve got a few moments, surf over and marvel at the incredible wealth of events and activities set up for the coming month.

I’m a big fan of sci-fi and I hope to participate with the month-long event.  Of course, I’ll be geeking out on November 23 when the greatest television show in the history of the universe celebrates its fiftieth anniversary.

First up is a recommended getting to know you post.  So, here we go.

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.

My name is Michael.  I’m a 40 year old bibliophile who adds more books to his to be read pile than he subtracts.  I’ve always enjoyed a wide variety of books and popular entertainment, including the sci-fi and fantasy genre.   I’m a college grade who regrets that I never took an overview of sci-fi and fantasy while in school (none was offered, but I wish it had been).   I’m married with no kids and two cats.   We’re both bibliophiles though we do try and keep each other from overloading the bookshelves and to be read piles.  So far, it’s only a minor success.

2. How long have you been a fan of sci-fi?

Since about 1977 when this little movie called Star Wars hit theaters.    I remember my grandfather and mother taking me to see it during its initial theatrical run and I loved it.   It got me hooked on science-fiction and I’ve slowly discovered the great range that is available since that time.  I will say my interest in published science-fiction has picked up a bit in the last twenty or so years.  Part of that is due to joining various real-world science-fiction and fantasy book groups and part of it is the Internet and on-line groups for fans.   When I first came to the genre, the sheer number of choices could make it a bit overwhelming and it seemed as if every cover blurb declared this novel the greatest ever written.  Hard to filer out what I might like or prefer based on that.  Thankfully, meeting others and interacting with those with similar and different tastes has helped me target certain authors, try new ones and learn others that I might want to avoid or knock down a few steps in the infamous TBR pile.

3. Why do you like sci-fi, and what is your favourite thing about it?

On the pop culture side, I love anything that capture that feeling I had at a young age of discovering Star Wars and all the awe and wonder that goes with it.   The other thing I like about sci-fi is that it can offer up things to ponder, different ideas and social commentary in a way that might seem heavy-handed if done in any other genre.    I enjoy things that make me think…but I also enjoy bubble-gum stuff with lots of explosions, space battles and little socially redeeming value other than–hey, at least I’m reading.

4. Favourite books/games/films/TV shows in the genre?

BooksEnder’s Game and Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card, Issac Asimov’s early output, Ian M. Banks, John Scalzi, George R.R. Martin, Lois McMaster Bujold, Robert J. Sawyer and Richard Matheson just to name a few.

Films Blade Runner, Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, Gattica, Inception, Planet of the Apes (the original), Star Wars, Empire Strikes Back, The Black Hole. 

TV ShowsDoctor Who, Star Trek, Star Trek: The Next Generation, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Blake’s Seven, Battlestar Galactica, Firefly, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Farscape, Babylon Five, The X-Files. 

5. What are your plans for Sci-Fi Month?

I hope to read a couple of genre novels and watch a whole bunch of genre shows and movie.  I may even post about them here.  I’ve got a broken toe right now and that’s limited my movement so I’ve had time the past few weeks to catch up with some old friends like The X-Files.  Of course, I plan to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of Doctor Who.   SciFi Month may be the impetus I need to do a series of posts on the previous anniversary celebrations for the good Doctor.    I also plan to visit some of Renn’s celebrations and hopefully meet some fellow fans and get some new recommendations.  I’m looking forward to it!

8 Comments

Filed under SciFi Month

8 responses to “November is SciFi Month!

  1. Ooh, welcome to the event Michael! =D If you do more posts, feel free to email/tweet me and I’ll spread the word and add them to the schedule. I shall add you to the participant list too.

    The internet has been a godsend for finding fellow-minded sci-fi fans. I don’t know many in real life. And oh, that TBR pile… bane of the book bloggers life 😉

    I never really thought of the sci-fi social commentary that way, that’s a good point. I suppose many of the novels are allegorical, and get away with it.

    I look forward to reading any future posts you might make for the month =D Thanks for joining!

    • I’ll be sure to let everyone know when I post item that fit the bill. I may not have time with all the great reading you’ve got for the challenge lined up!

  2. These ‘getting to know you’ posts are such a great idea!
    Looking forward to this and your reviews.
    Lynn 😀

  3. no wonder we are bloggy friends, we like all the same stuff! I hope your foot heals soon. 😦 Just think about all the Doctor Who and Star Trek episodes you can catch up on while you are recovering! Netflix to the rescue. 😉

  4. Hallo Michael,

    I started to make my rounds to the SFN blogs yesterday but after burning more midnight oil than advisable, I decided to resume today and make sure I swing by the blogs that were posting Intros still! 🙂 You’ll find that Star Wars plays a bit part in my appreciation for SFF as well if you read my post “Seventeen to Seven”! And, as far as reading sci-fi, that has had a few hiccups of beginnings in my life which I also touch on in my first Feature as well! Mostly though, I feel blessed I found Tomorrow Comes Media, as through being a blog tour host I am uncovering some seriously awesome indie writers who endear the genre with well-built worlds, brilliant characters, and a story you can chew on afterwards! 🙂 From there I am walking back into the genre with SFN as I am setting my sails to explore three sub-genres, for different reasons, but one of them is due to not being sure I ‘fit’ it! 🙂 Always good to step outside your comfort zones!

    I am hopeful that as I wander through all the lovely posts this month I’ll find some rather special suggestions of ‘what to read’ as much as ‘what to explore’!! Likewise, I am new into the Whovian Universe as I just started to watch my very *first episodes!* last night and lateron today I’ll post my two essays about them, one as to explain why I am intrigued by the series and the second to relay my thoughts and murmurs on the episodes I was seeing! Its all very exciting isn’t it!? Where SFN can lead you!?

  5. Yay another Doctor Who fan! Nov 23 is going to be a non-stop DW celebration for me. 🙂 I hope you get around to posting about the anniversary specials – It will be interesting to read your thoughts on them! I feel like rewatching them myself to get in the mood for the big day! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Announcement: Sci-Fi Month Schedule |Rinn Reads

Leave a Reply

