Booking Through Thursday — Feeling Guilty

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

SammyDee asks:

What book(s) have you read that you’re secretly ashamed to admit

I have a feeling this question will get a lot of responses centering around those bodice ripping romance novels.  And while I appreciate the effort it takes to include phrases like “love muffin” in a novel, I have to admit I don’t necessarily seek those out.

I will, however, admit that I do have my guilty pleasure of young adult teen angst novels.  For some reason, every once in a while I get in the mood for some teenage angst and I just can’t help myself.  Thank heavens for the e-readers and the library’s self-help reserve section so I don’t get funny looks from the librarians when I check these out.

A lot of times, I get the teen angst novels as audio books, rip the CDs to my iPod and listen to them while I’m working out–especially when running long distances.

It’s the secret shame of my GoodReads feed.

8 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

8 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Feeling Guilty

  1. For me it’s not so much being ashamed to admit what I read, but rather ashamed of occasionally enjoying and/or not being able to put down a book that’s poorly written.

  2. I liked the comment you left me on my post, I actually LOL after reading it. Thanks for stopping by today.
    Being a Great-Gramma, I haven’t read any YA books, maybe I need to give them a try…

  3. Saw your comment in another book lover’s blog… Saying that the author of “The Graveyard Book” will be writing more. Thank you! I love that one, a while ago.

    Oh and as to teen books and Young Adult and whatever…. I love a lot of them! And I’m 75 and have no shame. -grin- I like the fey and faeries and ghosts and lots of not-typically-“Nana”-type-reading, also.

    Hey, like the saying about wine…. “Life is too short to drink bad wine.” Well, especially at my point, life is too sort to read ANYTHING, but that which I enjoy!

    And btw, I read many different books… Right now I have *abandoned* the faeries, etc. ….. For immersion in Mary Stewart books. Now, THAT is a leap, I’d say. ,-)

    “Auntie”
    “When a man gives his opinion, he’s a man.
    When a woman give her opinion, she’s a bitch.”

    ~~Bette Davis

  4. thanks for visiting my blog! I guess the thing that would come the closest to being “ashamed” for me is the rare book that I just can’t finish, for whatever reason. I don’t like to declare defeat! There haven’t been too many that I have given up on — I try to be careful what I buy.

Leave a Reply

