Waiting on Wednesdays: Redshirts by John Scalzi

I’ve got so many books in the TBR pile that I could probably go a year without buying a new book and not run out of stuff to read.  But as a bibliophile, my TBR pile just keeps growing and growing.

And as we gear up for the summer and summer reading, it only looks to continue to grow.

Breaking the Spine is hosting Waiting on Wednesday.   And of all the books set to hit shelves in the next few weeks, there’s one in particular I’ve had my eye on since author John Scalzi announced it on his web site a couple of months ago.  It’s his new novel Redshirts.

I’ve been a Scalzi fan since I read Old Man’s War.  His last novel Fuzzy Nation was a pure delight and it just hit paperback.  You should consider picking it up that way or listening to the audio version read by Wil Wheaton.  Or you may want to try The Android’s Dream in which an intergalactic incident is set off by flatulence.  And it only gets better from there!

You may also know Scalzi from his work as an adviser on Stargate: Universe (or as I call it, the best of the Stargate series)

Redshirts has been on my mind this week because there have been a couple of giveaways of ARCs on various sites (which I’ve not won one yet, dang nabbit!) and I discovered the other day that the first four chapters are available as a free preview for my Kindle.  I’ve downloaded them but keep debating if it’s not going to be more torture to have those four and then not be able to keep reading the rest of the book before it hits shelves and e-readers in June.*

* I was hoping the latest installment of Amazon’s Vine program would have some ARCs to request.  Alas, it didn’t.  Maybe May’s will! 

Here’s the description courtesy of Amazon.

Ensign Andrew Dahl has just been assigned to theUniversal Union Capital Ship Intrepid, flagship of theUniversal Union since the year 2456. It’s a prestige posting,and Andrew is thrilled all the more to be assigned to theship’s Xenobiology laboratory.

Life couldn’t be better…until Andrew begins to pick up on thefact that (1) every Away Mission involves some kind of lethalconfrontation with alien forces, (2) the ship’s captain, its chiefscience officer, and the handsome Lieutenant Kerensky always survive these confrontations, and (3) at least one low-ranked crew member is, sadly, always killed

Not surprisingly, a great deal of energy below decks is expendedon avoiding, at all costs, being assigned to an Away Mission.Then Andrew stumbles on information that completely transforms his and his colleagues’ understanding of what thestarship Intrepid really is…and offers them a crazy, high-riskchance to save their own lives.

As a huge Star Trek fan, this book just sounds like way, way too much fun. Can’t wait to read it! It hits stores and e-readers June 5.

3 Comments

Filed under meme, Waiting on Wednesdays

3 responses to “Waiting on Wednesdays: Redshirts by John Scalzi

  1. Sarah

    I read Fuzzy Nation and follow Scalzi’s blog and he cracks me up, so I’m really looking forward to reading Redshirts too.

  2. celialarsen

    I wouldn’t say I’m a Star Trek fan (having only seen the new film), but this does sound like a lot of fun, and I like Scalzi’s blog. Nice pick!

    If you’d like, you can check out my WoW here.

  3. W

    I’ve been reading the sample chapters Scalzi mentioned on his blog. The first chapter skewers Star Trek in typical Scalzi style but the rest is intriguing me so far.

Leave a Reply

