Red Seas Under Red Skies Read Along, Week Two

It’s time for the second installment in the Red Seas Under Red Skies read-along.  This week’s questions (which cover up to the end of chapter six in the book) are from the Little Red Reviewer.

Once you’re done here, surf over to Andrea’s for links to a lot of other people who are participating in the event.  I look forward each week to the many opinions, takes and observations on the reading–many of the people notice things I missed or bring up something interesting to discuss, debate and ponder.

Here we go with this week’s questions…

Now that we know a little more about Selendri and Requin, what do you think of them? I worry Locke is suddenly realizing this con might be a bit tougher than he expected.

In The Lies of Locke Lamora, it felt like Jean and Locke had their hands full trying to pull off their con, but somehow they managed to stay one step ahead.   Now it seems like they’ve graduated and are smaller fish in a big pond, going up against some truly clever, devious and all-around scary people.   Wow, the ways in which Selendri and Requin dream up for people to die is scary.  The fight with the wasps, the poisoning to keep people in line, trapdoors (I did find it amusing to have the vendor set up where people fell onto the pavement.  Nice touch by Lynch).   The price for failure is steep, but the cost of success may be higher.  I begin to wonder if Locke and Jean haven’t bitten off a lot more than they can chew…

There’s a line by Jean in this section about wishing they’d just for once find an easy con to pull off.  Loved that one.

I’ll probably say it a couple of times in this week’s questions, but wow does Lynch come up with creative ways to torture his characters.

Isn’t the Artificers’ Crescent just amazing?  If you could purchase anything there, what would it be?

Is there a way we could have the potion that allows you to eat without gaining weight be a short term thing?  If I could use it every once in a while so I could enjoy a good pig out, I think I’d like that.   Again, my thoughts on a lot of what was offered here is–wow, Lynch sure can dream up some incredible ways to torture his characters.

What did you think of  Salon Corbeau and the goings on that occur there? A bit crueler than a Camorri crime boss, no? 

Again, Lynch sure can dream up some creative ways to torture his characters.   This section of the book was just full of terrible ways to die.  I’ll admit the wasps seemed a bit more cruel that most of the others if only because the poor guy fighting them probably thought he had a chance to live when the contest started, only that slowly taken away by each round of the wasps.   And yet you’ve still got people betting on the outcome of this thing.   It seemed a bit like a really evil version of current reality shows.  (Well, certain ones….)

The Archon might be a megalomaniacal military dictator, but he thinks he’s doing right by Tal Verrar: his ultimate goal seems to be to protect them.  What do you think he’s so afraid of?

I get the feeling he’s not too happy about change.    The dumping of the printing presses into the harbor highlighted this for me.  It’s easier to keep the grips on power if you’re a dictator if the population can’t easily distribution knowledge.

And who the heck is trying to kill Locke and Jean every few days?  they just almost got poisoned (again!)!

I have a few theories on this one.   Last week, we wondered how long it would be before Sabetha entered the novel in person.   This week, I found myself wondering if she might be behind these attacks because things didn’t end well or she holds some type of grudge against Locke.   In her mind, he could have abandoned her.

Do you really think it’s possibly for a city rat like Locke to fake his way onto a Pirate ship?

At this point, I think Locke and Jean can pull off just about any con they put their mind to…and let’s face it, they have quite the incentive to pull this one off!

8 Comments

Filed under Read Along, Red Seas Under Red Skies

8 responses to “Red Seas Under Red Skies Read Along, Week Two

  1. I had the same thoughts in relation to No.2.
    Oh no, I truly hope that Sabetha will never turn out to be a potential assassin of Locke’s – he’s got enough enemies out there. I’m hoping that when Sabetha comes onto the scene we have a wonderful snarky relationship to look forward to. I would be so disappointed if she is anyway involved.
    Lynn 😀

  2. Pingback: Red Seas Under Read Skies Readalong Part II « Darkcargo

  3. I would never have thought of Sabetha as the source of the assassination attempts, but no Scott Lynch plot twist can be ruled out! 😀

  4. Pingback: Red Seas Under Red Skies read-along, part 2! « the Little Red Reviewer

  5. Wow, brilliant connection between the Archon wanting to suppress information and the printing presses being dumped in the harbor! I wish I had thought of that.

    when you get one of those potions at the Artificer’s Crescent, could you pick one up for me too? sort of like a tape worm that goes away after 48 hours?

    yeah, maybe it’s a good thing that Locke is taking a little forced vacation from the Sinspire, he’s gonna have to come up with some really, really good to get past Selendri. I think Requin is sort of curious about Locke, but there isn’t much keeping Selendri from having him arrested. or killed.

    and if they ever had an easy con? that would be boring, and nothing awful would ever happen to anyone. Lynch would never torture is with that!

    if you’re not into authors doing horrible things to characters, you might want to stay away from Robin Hobb.

  6. No way do I think Sabetha is behind the assassination attempts. My theory on Sabetha is that Locke was immensely in love with her but she fell for Jean and Jean said no to her because he would not be with someone whom his best friend was pining for. Or because he’s gay. So she fled the area with a broken heart, leaving Locke’s heart broken too.

  7. The entire time I was reading I also thought “Damn, Scott Lynch sure can come up with a lot of ways to torture his characters!” He continuously outdoes himself. I’m to the point that I’ve learned that I shouldn’t read this book immediately before or after meals.

  8. I wondered why the Archon was intervening in the guerrilla between the printing press and the scribes. He’s pretty supportive of technology but is not trying to tip the balance in its favor. Maybe he doesn’t want to give his plan away too early?

Leave a Reply

