Booking Through Thursday — Recommendation?

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Bookish Sarah asks:

If someone asked you for a book recommendation, what is the FIRST book you’d think to recommend (without extra thought)?

If someone asks me for a book reservation, I generally have two I’ll throw their way. One is Every Secret Thing by Laura Lippman and the other is A Great Deliverance by Elizabeth George.

Both are great mysteries that I’ve loved and consumed within a couple of days of starting.  I will also throw in that the Lippman is a stand-alone mystery and the George is the start of my favorite on-going mystery series, so the reader know what they’re getting into going into things.  The Lynley/Havers mysteries are addictive!

Of course, a more recent book that I’m ready to recommend is Ready Player One by by Ernest Cline.   If you’re close to my age, you’ll love all the reference and homages to pop culture of the 80’s.   I also say you should read it before the movie comes out because there is no way the movie will get all the rights to everything paid homage to in the book.

2 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

2 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Recommendation?

  1. Some great recommendations on your list.

    I had a hard time with this week’s question.

  2. Hello! Thanks for the visit to my blog!

    As a mystery lover, I am always looking out for mystery recommendations so thanks!

    I would love to read Ready Player One! Although I am a 90’s child with I would be very interested in the 80′s pop culture references.

Leave a Reply

