Review: Blackest Night

Blackest Night
Blackest Night by Geoff Johns
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’m sure I’ll annoy Green Lantern fans everywhere by saying I don’t honestly see what the big deal about this cross-over event is.

I should probably preface that by saying that I’m more a Marvel than a DC reader, so part of this could be my own natural bias coming into play. And part of it could be that I haven’t read every single issue of Green Lantern leading up this storyline, so I could be at a huge loss on picking up the nuances of the tale.

That said, I found this storyline tedious and a bit off-putting. I’d heard a lot of buzz about it and figured this comic book line had to be better than the tedious Green Lantern movie we got last year.

Yeah, not so much.

It’s got some good art and it’s engaging at certain points. But overall, this didn’t do a lot for me.

View all my reviews

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Review: Blackest Night

  1. W

    I can’t speak for long term GL fans. I’m a marvel fan that crossed over because of the buzz about Blackest Night when it was a month to month thing. But I think it was a big deal because this overall storyline revealed all these other colors of lanterns. It sort of came in the build-up to Blackest Night but BN was the plot line where everyone was familiarized with the other Lanterns.

Leave a Reply

