Booking Through Thursday — Sequel

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Ted asks:

Which non-series book would you most like to read the sequel to? Do you have any wishes for what might happen in it?

I’m kind of split about this one .  Would I love the opportunity to spend time with some of my favorite characters and settings again?  Yes.  Do I want a sequel that may not be as good as the original?  Probably not.

In the day and age when it seems like every book that comes out is part of a series or a sequel, I think there’s something to be said for the stand alone novel that tells a complete story and the author is content not to revisit the universe or characters again.  Sometimes it’s nice to know I’m picking up a book that will be the whole story without having to wade through a trilogy or an on-going series.  Not that I don’t enjoy the long term commitment as well.  But I like a balance of both.

I think that too often, authors and publishers get too focused on writing the next great franchise of novels, that they fail to put out a solid product.  I recently read Cinder, which had the intriguing hook of being a steampunk Cinderella.  However, the book lost me because it was working too hard to stretch out the concept and universe to a new series of novels.  Would it have been wrong for the author to tell a good story and tell it completely and then see if it warrants a sequel or series?

And then you’ve got the example of Robert Jordan who stretched Wheel of Time to such a length that he died before he could finish it.

As a Stephen King fan, the one good thing that came out of his being hit by a van a few years ago was the fact that he realized he’d better write the end of the Dark Tower series because he could pass away and leave it incomplete and his readers hanging.

So, no I can’t think of a non-series book I’d like a sequel to.

8 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

8 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Sequel

  1. I agree with you on this one. I prefer a stand-alone books over series. However, I do read some series books if they are only three or four books, but the ones that go on and on to number 18, 19, and 20, I tend to give up on reading them, I feel after three or four books in a series the author begins to repeat a lot and the characters begin to do the same things over and over again, just in a different setting. After a while it becomes very boring to me. What started out as fun, turned into boring after book four.

    • I think if an author has a plan for the series and follows it, I’m fine with that. It’s the open ended series that keep publishing sequel after unnecessary sequel that drive me nuts.

  2. Kristin@BloodSweatandBooks

    I think you make some really valid points. But I like sequels and trilogies IF the series can handle it. Some truly cannot and I’m left scratching my head like why oh why did they write this. Other times I’m completely surprised how well a sequel works.
    My BTT in case your curious
    I see you have a Walking Dead Post so I’m going to check that out!

  3. If a book is written as a stand-alone novel I rarely find myself wishing for it to turn into a series. I agree that it’s sometimes good to know from start that this is supposed to be a complete novel in itself and not part of a series.

  4. Yup, I agree. Sometimes books can be ruined by trying to make them into series.

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/03/booking-through-thursday_08.html

  5. Series can ruin a good stand-alone but I’ve found the majority of my favorites are apart of a series (Harry Potter is a great example!).

    PS. I totally agree about Cinder. I’m in the middle of it now and not sure what I think….

    Here’s my BTT: http://blueeggbooks.blogspot.com/2012/03/booking-through-thursday_08.html

  6. Great answer, I couldn’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

