Review: Cast Member Confidential: A Disneyfied Memoir

Cast Member Confidential: A Disneyfied MemoirCast Member Confidential: A Disneyfied Memoir by Chris Mitchell
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

During my college years, I spent several summers working at at the Busch Gardens theme park in Virginia. That experience plus trips to Walt Disney World over the years has always made me curious to know what goes on behind the scenes at the Disney theme parks.

So when I saw "Cast Member Confidential" on the shelf, I knew I couldn’t pass it by. Could it be the ultimate kiss and tell book at what it’s like to work for the most magical place on Earth?

Yes and no.

Early on, Chris Mitchell details what it’s like to be part of the culture of Disney and the requirements asked of cast members. But as soon as the rules are established, Mitchell then spends page after page talking about how he and other subverted the rules, becoming celebrities among the Disney crew for how far they could push the boundaries.

Mitchell also details what drove him to want to work for Disney for a year and a lot of the book dwells on his personal situation. At times, Mitchell comes across as too self-involved, a factor that works against this reader working up much, if any, sympathy for some of the trials he faces.

I guess what it all boils down to is I was hoping for something more than I got. I doubt we’ll ever really get a true behind the scenes look at how things work at Disney because it might spoil the magic. But it would still have been nice if "Cast Member Confidential" had been a little more of what was promised.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

