Booking Through Thursday: Is It Hot In Here?

btt button

Well, folks, I don’t know about where you are, but right here, it’s HOT.

So … when you think about “hot reading,” what does that make you think of? Beach reading? Steamy romances? Books that take place in hot climates? Or cold ones?

As my grandfather used to say, “It’s H-O-T, warm” where I am as well.

As for “hot reading” a couple of things popped into my head.   My local library has two different lending periods for books.  There is the normal loan period and there’s the one week only, no renewals lending period for “high demand” or “hot” books.  This one has an almost daily impact on how I order my ever-growing pile of books to be read.

Of course, there is also the reference to the hot and steamy side of books…and I think we all know what I’m talking about here.  (Wink, wink, grin, grin…say NO more!)   Romance novels are most often associated with this hot side, but sex scenes crop up in other books as well.  As a teenager, I recall reading Stephen King’s “It” and there being a couple of scenes involving sex.  One in particular I recall as being fairly hot (at least it was to my teenage, hormonally-addled mind).

Also thinking of the teenage year, I recall going in to bookstores and seeing the magazine sections.  This was in the days before the Internet and they’d keep the adult magazines up in a higher section to try and discourage younger, impressionable readers from looking through them.  (By adult, I mean Playboy).  I recall seeing them sitting up there and being very curious about them because–holy cow, it was a magazine just full of naked women!  How could that not be hot?!?  I seem to recall that some places would have them wrapped in plastic so that even if you managed to get your grubby, teenage, hormonally imbalanced mitts on one, you would still have to work to look at it.  I also recall thinking that if I should try to reach up, grab one and maybe open the pages to see the naked women that somehow, some authority figure would jump out and demand to know if I was old enough to look at it and then to see some ID to verify that.    Or that some book store employee might see me and rat me out to my parents, who would ground me for the rest of my life.

5 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

5 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Is It Hot In Here?

  1. Ann

    Oh so funny, I remember being on vacation once, and not knowing what Playgirl was picked it up and opened it and there was a famous movie star at the time, (this was in 1973), in all his glory leaving it all hang out… wink, wink, grin, grim.. you know what I mean. I returned that magazine back to the shelf and walked away hoping no one noticed I was in shock.

    Happy “Hot” Reading.

  2. I love this question and seeing everyone’s take on it.

    Here’s my answer.

  3. In my teenage years, when I read a steamy scene in a romance novel, I used to feel so guilty. Not that those were as hot as as they are now!

    😀

    Here is my “hot” post!

  4. Ha! I enjoyed learning about your “hot” reads. I never would have thought of Steven King but, yes, when I was a teenager, I was more engrossed in things that had steamy sex (I was a teenager; why shouldn’t I have been?). And I do think that magazines are popular…no matter what kind they are. Women always want to read up on how to tone their bodies for summer, and men always want to look at the magazines with the naked wom—I mean, the swimsuit editions. 🙂

    Thank you for stopping by! Enjoy your reading and your summer!

  5. I cannot read Stephen King he gives me nightmares particularly “IT”. I do agree tho to me “Hot” is whats on the in list!

Leave a Reply

