Booking Through Thursday: Can We Discuss This?

btt button

Do you have friends and family to share books with? Discuss them with? Does it matter to you?

(Personally, I almost can’t remember the last time I was able to really TALK about a book I’d read with someone else who’d read it, and haven’t really been able to since my best friend and I devoured the same books in high school. Thank God for the internet.)

I’m a member of a science-fiction and fantasy book club at a near-by library. We meet once a month to discuss our selection. It’s pretty interesting and it’s nice to hear some other opinions on books or to share commentary on the novels we’ve read. It also helps me discover or pick up books that I might not necessarily have considered or read and to help try and cross off a few that I haven’t yet read but should–either because it’s a classic of the field or that it’s been on my TBR pile for far too long.

Of course, there’s also the Internet for discussion of other books and genres. I also love it though it’s helped by TBR pile grow and grow to the point that it’s threatening to take over my home. So many good books, so little time. If only I didn’t have to work, eat and sleep….

3 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Can We Discuss This?

  1. I too blame book bloggers for my ever growing TBR pile!

    BTT: Discussion

  2. Your book club sounds great! How fun to get to share your thoughts like that!

  3. I rarely get the chance to discuss books because most of my friends don’t read or can’t keep up with me. 🙂 My college literature classes were when I got to discuss books that someone else had read.

Leave a Reply

