Booking Through Thursday: Disappointed

btt button

Name a book or author that you truly wanted to love but left you disappointed. (And, of course, explain why.)

I could go with the obvious choice and say “Twilight.” After seeing how caught up in the book everyone was, I tried listening to the audio version. I was interested for the first half of the book, but the story makes an abrupt turn about halfway through and just never recovers. I find it odd that Meyer claims she’s never seen Buffy or Angel and yet huge chunks of the book are mirrors of what both shows did–and did better.

For a less obvious choice, I’ll go with Robert A. Heinlein’s “Have Spacesuit, Will Travel.” I should preface this with saying I’m not a huge fan of Heinlein, but I’d always heard raves about his juvenile novels. “Spacesuit” is one of the big ones and so I was eager to read it. However, while it started out OK, it just never grabbed me and towards the end I found myself getting bored by the story as a whole.

6 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

6 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Disappointed

  1. I read half way through the first Twilight and stopped. I got bored and never picked it back up so I can understand your disappointment with a book that is supposedly good but isn’t.

  2. LOL yeah, you’re the second person so far that commented on Twilight. I have to say that I love the books but hate the main character. I also have to say that I’m not one of those teenybopper fans or bandwagoners. I found Twilight by browsing my bookstore’s shelves and it caught my eye and I was instantly hooked. This was when it was the ONLY book out and none of my friends were reading it and there was no talk about any others coming out. I definitely welcome all opinions on the books – I just hate it when non-fans assume that all Twilight fans are in the hype when there are probably a good number more like myself who loved it before it was all the rage.

    • I can see how if you discovered the book before they blew up, you might have a different perspective. I wonder if it’s similar to how I feel about fans who have discovered Dr Who since it came back five years ago. I’m happy they like it, but I feel like an old cranky guy yelling “get off my lawn!” when they start talking about how David Tennant is the only good Doctor or that they haven’t ever watched the original stories.

      The other thing that really bugs me about the Twilight books is that some of the most devoted fans only read those four books over and over again. I understand you love them and I applaud that you’re reading…but there is a whole library full of other great books, just waiting to be discovered. A little variety is a good thing.

  3. LOL you should check out the rest of my blog – despite having read the books at least twice, I have lots of variety and find joy in many books. Of course, my blog is still young so not all of my eclectic tastes are in view there. 🙂

  4. Haven’t read any of the Twilight books, but I’ve read quite a bit of Heinlein and mostly loved it. Haven’t read the one you mention, though, so I might have to give it a try.

  5. I never even heard of ‘Have Spacesuit, Will Travel,’ although I have read the Twilight series, and enjoy Eclipse the most. I’m not a huge fan of the saga, nor have I read the books multiple times. I certainly don’t think they’re that ‘great.’

Leave a Reply

