“Shutter Island” by Dennis Lehane

Shutter IslandMy rating: 4 of 5 stars
Being the book snob that I am, I’ve had this one of my to be read list ever since I heard it was being adapted for the silver screen.

And with the movie finally hitting theaters, I decided it was time to give it a try.

I’ve not read a lot of Dennis Lehane, though people have told me I should. I read “Mystic River” a few years ago and found it compelling, but I haven’t yet picked up any of his other books. Reading “Shutter Island” I think I’ll be revisiting Lehane in the near future.

One of the blurbs on the book cover called “Shutter Island” a cross between Stephen King and Agatha Christie. It’s a very apt description and the whole idea of a locked-room mystery with the supernatural element works very well. But thanks to the movie’s campaign, I was aware that there was some twist to the events of the story and so I found myself looking harder for clues to it than I might have if I’d not been aware a twist was coming. Thankfully, Lehane puts all his cards on the table early, laying the groundwork for the plot twist well enough that it works when it finally arrives and it doesn’t feel like something he came up with out of left field.

I can’t say more about it without ruining it for others, but I will say it did make the book worth reading and worth skimming back through to pick up on the clues Lahane lays out as the story unfolds.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a comment

Filed under mystery, review, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

