Booking Through Thursday: Grammar

btt button

In honor of National Grammar Day … it IS “March Fourth” after all … do you have any grammar books? Punctuation? Writing guidelines? Style books?

More importantly, have you read them?

How do you feel about grammar in general? Important? Vital? Unnecessary? Fussy?

Is anyone else feeling the pressure of National Grammar Day with this post to make sure all our grammar and spelling is correct?  Or is it just me?

I do own a copy of the AP Style Guide.  I was a communications major in college and I still use it from time to time.  Several undergrad courses required that I read the entire Style Guide cover to cover and we even had quizzes on it. Not the most exciting reading in the world and some of the rules don’t make much sense…

I will admit I try to use good grammar whenever possible, but it doesn’t always happen.   I sometimes get irritated when people can’t use “can” and “may” properly when asking a question…and I will jokingly (at least I try to come off as jokingly) correct them.

I do think that spelling and grammar are important in  professional situations.  I had a boss who used to send out e-mails that included text abbreviations.  It just didn’t come across as all that professional.

But maybe that’s just all that time reading and memorizing the Style Manual rearing its ugly head…

4 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

4 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Grammar

  1. You are my favorite response today with this aweful, evil, and judgemental question. LOL. Here’s mine.

  2. I’ve definitely also had at least one boss who used horrid abbreviations in her emails! Ugh!

  3. Good answer! Yes, I sort of felt a bit of pressure because of the subject matter, too. I do agree that spelling and grammar are important in formal writing – and I really hate all the “texting” abbreviations that are sneaking in these days. Actually, I don’t even like to use them when I’m texting!

  4. Well thought out answer. I am enjoying seeing the differing responses. Mine is located here: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/03/booking-through-thursday-grammar.html

Leave a Reply

