A New Challenge: The Classics Challenge

Surfing around, I came across The Classics Challenge.   Looking at my pile of TBR books, I realized I have a number of books that fall under the category of classic and I’m hoping this challenge will give the motivation to pull them up a bit higher on my list and actually get around to reading them.

You can sign up HERE.   I’m going for the entree level, though I may jump up to feast…

Here’s the rules:

**Choose Your Level (Keep reading for Bonus)
1. Classics Snack – Read FOUR classics
2. Classics Entree – Read FIVE classics
3. Classics Feast – Read SIX classics

**Rules/Guidelines
1. Cross-posting with other challenges is allowed (and encouraged!)
2. Audiobooks are fine
3. Re-reads are acceptable, BUT books must be finished after April 1st to count for the challenge
4. Lists don’t have to be set in stone; you can change your selections at any time
5. Have Fun!!
6. You do NOT need a blog to participate.

**Bonus!! (Optional)
In the past two challenges we compiled a list of books that we think might be considered classics one day. I’ve wiped out that old list so we can start fresh, but to get an idea of what others suggested in the past, see HERE and HERE. To start off the list, I’m going to suggest Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver.

Leave your suggestion (one please) in the comments below. If you want to participate in the bonus round, choose a book from the list and read that in addition to the classics you have picked (e.g., if you are doing the classics snack, you will read five books total and so on).

I realize this means you may have to wait to make your list or leave the bonus book as “tentative” if you choose to participate in the bonus round, but I’m hoping this is a modern twist on the old classics challenge.

What is a Classic?
Am I going to define what a classic is? Nope! There are lots of definitions offered on the Internet, but we all have different opinions so don’t stress too much. In the comments below, I’d love if you would give a (one please) recommendation for a classic you would suggest to beginners or apprehensive readers–maybe something lighter or something engaging. I’ll compile a list.

Leave a comment

Filed under Challenges

Leave a Reply

