Booking Through Thursday — Required Reading

btt button

We all had to read things in school that we didn’t like … but what about something you read for a class that you ended up liking (or loving)? An author you discovered that you might not have found? A genre you hadn’t thought about?

I recall being pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading My Antonia by Wila Cather as a high school junior.

Growing up, I attended several different school systems due to family moves.  I found it interesting to see which books were used as curriculum at certain age levels.  Because of this, I read Catcher in the Rye and To Kill A Mockingbird on my own and I think I enjoyed them more.  Sometimes I look back and wonder what the class discussions on the books might have been like, though.

9 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

9 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Required Reading

  1. Sadly, I still haven’t read those books!
    Here Is My BTT

  2. Did moving around mean that you got repeats of books? A friend of mine moved a bunch in high school, and so did Julius Caesar something like 3 times!

  3. Reading books at school can be a big chore. Listening to other people when they’re called on to read out loud – just no! Ruined it for me I’m afraid.
    Lynn :D

  4. Great picks! Loved To Kill A Mockingbird, too! And to reply to the question you left on my blog, Yes, they do still have the Scholastic Sheets. One of my friends volunteers at her daughter’s school for the scholastic book fairs. Good to know they are still doing those.

Leave a Reply

