Booking Through Thursday — That Old Familiar Feeling

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Sally asks:

Have you ever bought a book, started reading it and then realised you have already read it? If so, how far did you get? (Can you tell this happened to me for the first time ever this week!?!)

And–did you keep reading??

This is the problem with having an ever growing to-be-read pile and having it split across several locations across the house.  It also isn’t helped by the fact that sometimes my memory isn’t what it used to be.  Of course, I’ve bought duplicate copies of a book I want to read, generally at a used book store or some other outlet where the cost is fairly low.   And yes, I’ve actually purchased a book I’ve read before, not recalling I’d read it until I got a certain number of pages into the story (this can also happen in checking out books from the library).

Of course, this isn’t helped by some authors (I’m looking at your Dean Koontz) who write the same novel over and over again.  Or at least it feels like the same novel as I read it.  I swear every time I pick up a Dean Koontz novel, I am struck by the feeling that I’ve read it before even if I know it’s new and I never have.   It’s one of the reasons I really don’t pick up many of Koontz’s novels any more.

3 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — That Old Familiar Feeling

  1. Oh, I know what you mean about some authors writing the same novel over and over…usually, I check that author off my list of want-to-reads.

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  2. Reading book that are just so similar can be such a pain and really give you deja vu. I have several duplicates of books on my bookshelf so can be confusing sometimes. Time to take the stragglers to a charity bookstore I think!

    http://lostinthought-becca.blogspot.co.uk/2012/06/booking-through-thursday-2.html

Leave a Reply

