Booking Through Thursday — Inspirational

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Two people asked a similar question:

Charlie Quillen asks:

Has a book ever inspired you to change anything in your life, fiction or non-fiction alike?

Lindsay asks:

There have been books I loved, books that I fell in love with, and books that changed my life, and they’re not always the same nor mutually exclusive.

A couple of years ago, I saw former hacker Kevin Mitnick interviewed on television, talking about his book The Art of Deception.  I was intrigued enough by the interview to put a copy on reserve at the library and then read it.  And it was fascinating to read how Mitnick didn’t rely as much on technical skills to uncover information, but instead worked through social conventions to get the information he wanted.   It was compelling to see how the most seemingly innocent and innocuous questions could lead to someone having the ability to hack into your life and business.   It led me to be a bit more wary of how much information I would reveal in a business setting and on-line to people I didn’t know.  It’s a fascinating read and in the day and age of sensitivity about information, I highly recommend it.

3 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Inspirational

  1. I love books that just reveal something you had never expected! Hop on over if you have the time:

    http://universeinwords.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/booking-through-thursday_26.html

    Juli @ Universe in Words

  2. wcs53

    Maybe I should check out that book. Sounds like something I might like. My BTT:

    http://wcs53.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/booking-through-thursday-changes-april-26/

Leave a Reply

