Booking Through Thursday — Somebody Else Does It Better

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Patricia asks a particularly insightful question:

Ever read a book you thought you could have written better yourself?

Does fanfic count?

Of course there are stories I could have written better. A couple of examples spring to mind from my real world book club. One is Time Slave, a horrible novel that I use as an example of why some books go out of print. I’m not sure I could have saved the book, but I think we’d be better off had it not been written or published at all. (Maybe it should never have been published. Let it exist as a manuscript only). And then there’s Archangel, a book that I truly didn’t like. It felt like a classic Star Trek episode minus the interesting characters and storylines. I kept hoping Captain Kirk would show up and phaser everyone just so something interesting would happen.

On the other hand, I do have to give credit to the authors of these and other books that I think could be written better. They did what I haven’t done–wrote a book, got it edited and published.

3 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Somebody Else Does It Better

  1. Yeah, I usually feel the same when a book is not too good. I wish it didn’t really exist LOL

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/03/booking-through-thursday_22.html

  2. In my head I think I could do better, but could I? I don’t know!
    Here’s My BTT

  3. I don’t think I could have done a better job writing a book, but sometimes I think I could had done a better job editing it.

Leave a Reply

