Booking Through Thursday — Book Blogging

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Yvonne asks:

What do you look for when reading a book blog? Does the blogger have to read the same genre? Do you like reviews? Personal posts? Memes? Giveaways? What attracts you to a book blog?

And–what are your favorite book blogs?

In some ways, you can extend the question from not only what you look for in a book blog but also what I look for when I use social networking sites for books like Goodreads or LibraryThing. In both cases, I’m looking for someone who has something to say about the book other that “Wow, that sure was great!” or “Worst book ever!” Tell me a bit about why you liked the book or what stood out to you. I also look for reviews that aren’t always one extreme or another. You can’t love everything and you can’t hate everything. Personally when it comes to rating books, I give a lot of three and four stars out (out of five) but save a five star review for something I really liked and that I would unreservedly recommend to others.

As for what I like on each blog, that depends really on which blog I’m reading.  I love hearing the enthusiasm of fellow bibliophiles on some blogs while others have some great reviews that help me discover a book I may not usually consider.  I will admit I tend to be more drawn to book blogs and reviewers that share some interest with me in terms of what we like to read.     And I tend to like a book blog to show a bit of personality, not being afraid to love or hate something that may go against the grain or follows the crowd and, of course, I prefer that the blog be well written and easy to read.

4 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

4 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Book Blogging

  1. Yup, sometimes I will be interested to read a certain book (that I thought I’d never would) after reading a review of it in another blog. :)

  2. Personally, I tend to not really post many negative reviews because several of reasons:
    1-I’m pretty good at picking what I will like
    2-When I do pick one I don’t like, I usually don’t finish, and I don’t think it’s fair to review an unfinished book.
    3-I hope to be published one day and I don’t want to burn any bridges.

    That said, I definitely do see where you’re coming from with blogs who seem to love everything.

    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

Leave a Reply

