Mixing It Up Challenge Book List

I’ve decided to take part in Mixing It Up Challenge for 2012.  Still not sure what level of participation I may undertake during the coming year.  But here’s the list of what I’ve read as part of the challenge.

UPDATE (Feb. 27) : I’ve decided I’m going to try for the two-tier cake level which is 13-15 books in the categories.

I’ll also include a link to my review of each book, both on the site and on GoodReads.

Classic: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
Science Fiction and Fantasy: Shadows in Flight by Orson Scott Card
Biography: My Seinfeld Year by Fred Stoller
Graphic Novels and Manga: Morning Glories, Volume 1 and Volume 2 by Nick Spencer and Joe Eisma
Romance: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Children and Young Adult: Not That Kind of Girl by Siobhan Vivian
Modern Fiction: Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood 
Horror: Ancestor by Scott Sigler 
Crime and Mystery: Heartbroken by Lisa Unger
Journalism and Humor: Tough Sh*t: Life Advice From A Fat, Lazy Slob Who Did Good by Kevin Smith
Social Science and Philosophy: The Pregnancy Project by Gaby Rodriguez

2 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Mixing It Up Challenge

2 responses to “Mixing It Up Challenge Book List

  1. Hi Michael, and welcome to Mixing It Up 2012! Do drop me a line when you know how many categories you want to aim for (for the prize draw) – if you could decide by, say, the end of March, to keep it fair for the other participants, that would be great…

    Congratulations on finishing two categories already! I’m hoping to read ‘20,000 Leagues Under the Sea’ this year as well, for another challenge – it’ll be my first Jules Verne so I’m hoping for good things. Good luck with the rest of the challenge – and happy reading!

  2. elliepotten

    Hi Michael! Just dropping by to say hi to mark our quarter-way point… my, how time flies. Congratulations on toppling another five categories already, you’re putting my progress to shame, haha! I’ve heard wonderful things about THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, I might be tempted to buy a copy when we go into town next week, hmmmm. I’m looking forward to ORYX AND CRAKE too, though since I’ve never read Atwood before I might start with THE HANDMAID’S TALE. Anyway, happy reading until next time! :D

Leave a Reply

