Booking Through Thursday — Looking Ahead

btt button

saw this article the other day that asked, “Are you ashamed of skipping parts of books?” Which, naturally, made me want to ask all of YOU.

Do you skip ahead in a book? Do you feel badly about it when you do?

Since I’m not in school any more and am not being quizzed on the books I read or having to write essays on them, I don’t feel too bad if I skip ahead from time to time. I try to avoid it, but there are times when there’s something I’m reading that I have enough of an investment in to want to know how it turns out but not enough patience to plow through the book (this is especially the case if the book is boring me). This happens a lot of times with mysteries, especially if I happen to deduce the ending before the characters in the book do.

Also, I recall the study that came out last year that said no matter how hard we try, we will never read all the books out there or see all the movies or TV shows out there.  Simply not enough time.  So why not skip or find SPOILERS every once in a while?

3 Comments

Filed under Booking Through Thursday, meme

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday — Looking Ahead

  1. I agree, it depends on how I feel about the book.

  2. Yesm it can get pretty slow and frustrating in mysteries when you’ve already figured out the soution.

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/01/booking-through-thursday_19.html

  3. hazelceej

    Oh the mysteries – let me just do some merry skipping :) Here’s mine –
    http://www.stasiadesiderata.com/2012/01/19/skipping-parts-of-books/

Leave a Reply

